Welcome to the PA Studies Library Guide
Welcome! This guide will introduce selected Library resources of interest to our Physician Assistant Studies students and faculty.
Your Librarian for the PA Program is Virginia Young, Health Sciences Librarian. Please contact her with any questions or suggestions!
Complete the Orientation Checklist
Complete the steps below during your first week in the program to maximize the resources freely available to you!
1. Bookmark Physician Assistant Subject Guides:
2. Create a free "MyAccess" Account:
- Open Access Medicine. From off campus, a Library login is required (Le Moyne email username and password).
- Click on "My Profile" on the drop-down button in the upper right-hand corner of any page.
- Click on Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile and create your account.
- Download mobile app (optional - subset of diagnostic tools).
- Login to the app using your MyAccess username and password.
3. Create a personal PA Exam Prep account while on campus.
- Click on the green
button in the upper right corner, then click 
. - This will enable you to login from off campus and also install the mobile app.
4. Create a free DynaMed Account:
- Open DynaMed. From off campus, a Library login is required.
- Click on the circle in the upper right navigation bar to create a personal EBSCO/DynaMed account.
- Download the app.
- Sign in to the app with the username and password you created for your EBSCO/DynaMed account.
What is the AccessMedicine Collection?
Be sure to create a MyAccess account to create Flashcards and track review progress!
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowUse to find comprehensive health science resources. Contains full-text textbooks, videos, images, animations, self-assessment, clinical case files, and quick reference and study tools for students studying health science. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine textbooks in the library's catalog
- AccessNeurology This link opens in a new windowUse to find comprehensive academic neurology resources. Contains full-text of textbooks, self-assessment, clinical case files, quick reference and study tools and videos, images, and animations, in the field of neurology. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessNeurology collection textbooks in library's catalog - AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new windowUse to find comprehensive academic pediatric resources. Contains full-text of textbooks, self-assessment, clinical case files, quick reference and study tools and videos, images, and animations, in the field of pediatrics. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessPediatrics textbooks in library's catalog - Case Files Collection (AccessMedicine) This link opens in a new window
Use to find a comprehensive real-life medical case collection in an interactive format. Students have access to an extensive collection of cases designed to simulate the clinical approach and decision making. Contains the complete collection of patient cases from the McGraw-Hill Case Files collection. Includes case information, the approach, biochemistry pearls, references, questions, and more. Sourced from McGraw-Hill’s AccessMedicine Case Files. Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine Case Files in library's catalog
Link to Clinical Resources
Guide to Clinical Documentation by
Understand the when, why, and how! Here's your guide to developing the skills you need to master the increasing complex challenges of documenting patient care. Step by step, a straightforward 'how-to' approach teaches you how to write SOAP notes, document patient care in office and hospital settings, and write prescriptions. You'll find a wealth of examples, exercises, and instructions that make every point clear and easy to understand. See what practitioners and students are saying online... Definitely worth the purchase."This is a guide which will stay with you during your whole nursing program...so do not rent you must buy it and think of it as a documentation bible!"--Barbie Great resource for NP/PA school."Purchased this for my NP program. The book made writing SOAP notes and H&Ps very simple! Would recommend as a great resource"--Dr. Jon Love this! "Right down to it charting instructions and guidance. Even discusses codes and other factors of charting I had not taken into such deep account before. ... this book helped me understand how much more charting, other than SOAP's, must be completed for compliance standards. I feel this book is for just about everyone who is learning to chart as a reimbursable provider. --D. Conley
Call Number: Print and ebook (3 users) versions availableISBN: 9780803666627Publication Date: 2018-08-16
- NEJM Clinical Guideline WatchThe most clinically relevant guidelines summarized and put into context for you by NEJM Journal Watch editors.
- USPSTF RecommendationsCreated in 1984, the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications. All recommendations are published on the Task Force’s Web site and/or in a peer-reviewed journal.
- USPSTF ePSS Web and App versionsThe Prevention TaskForce (formerly ePSS) application assists primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients.