A-Z Databases

An archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.

Use to find a comprehensive real-life medical case collection in an interactive format. Students have access to an extensive collection of cases designed to simulate the clinical approach and decision making. Contains the complete collection of patient cases from the McGraw-Hill Case Files collection. Includes case information, the approach, biochemistry pearls, references, questions, and more. Sourced from McGraw-Hill’s AccessMedicine Case Files.   Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine Case Files in library's catalog

When it was released in 1915, "Birth of a Nation" was a groundbreaking film that introduced new forms and cinematic techniques. Yet the film is more often referred to as "the most controversial film ever made in the United States." The principal aim of this digital collection is the presentation of The Birth of a Nation in the most authentic and complete form possible. This descriptive edition has chosen as its point of orientation the film in its first exhibited form, as shown at Clune's Auditorium, Los Angeles, California, on February 8, 1915. The guide that accompanies the collection is critical to understanding the information provided with each scene.

Use to find general reference material, including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to start researching your topic; you can search across all the reference books or select a subject area. Contains eBooks.

Hyper Articles en Ligne, or HAL, is an open archive where authors can deposit scholarly documents from all academic fields. HAL is run by the Centre pour la communication scientifique directe, a French computing centre, which is part of the French National Centre for Scientific Research, CNRS. Other French institutions, such as INRIA, have joined the system. While it is primarily directed towards French academics, participation is international. For physics, mathematics and other natural science topics, HAL has an automated depositing agreement with arXiv. A similar agreement exists with PubMed Central for biomedical topics.

For most of the 20th century, the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) was the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against their government. This collection consists of 2 parts. Part 1 of the collection spans most of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. Part 2 of the collection contains papers from the ACLU Southern Regional Office documents the ACLU’s legal battle to enforce the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in thirteen Southern states. 

Use to find company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. Contains industry profiles, market data (size & segmentation), company profiles, executive summaries, country profiles, news, and commentary.

Use to find global corporate and industry related documents. Contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries, including background information as well as reports and financials. Mergent Archives includes access to new and historical documents.

Drawn from the collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia, and National Library of South Africa, Part 1 of the collection covers literacy and social mobility in the 1800s, with a particular focus on the rarely documented aspects of women, children, humour, and leisure activity in the Victorian age. Part II looks at the role Britain played as an imperial power throughout the century, and contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa.

Use to find study help for the PA exam. Contains targeted practice questions formatted similarly to what you'll see on exam day, individualized skills reports, and customizable features that allow you to focus on the areas you need help with the most. Registration required (you may use the AccessMedicine username and password)

Several of our Salem Press book titles are available in online format. Two collections are currently available: 

• The Careers series is designed for students and those searching for a new career. This database contains individual titles that examine career fields such as Healthcare, Human Services, Business, Sports and Fitness and the Environment.
• The Reference Shelf - Each 200-page volume provides comprehensive coverage of an issue of importance in modern society. Each volume contains 35-45 notable documents and articles (complete or abstracted) from respected periodicals and media outlets. Each chapter’s introductory material provides guidance in using these materials. A bibliography, index and important websites enhance further research.

First time users must register for a SciFinderⁿ account. You only need to register one time.

Includes the following databases:
- Human Anatomy Atlas (2021 edition)
- Physiology & Pathology (2020 edition)
- Muscle Premium (2018 edition)
Please note: Visible Body opens in a new browser window and will take a few moments to load.
On-campus link to the database

Visible Body: Anatomy & Function offers visual anatomy guides and animations for such physiological functions as Nutrition/Elimination, Circulation/Respiration, Reproduction and more.
Please note: Visible Body opens in a new browser window and will take a few moments to load.
On-campus link to the database

Use to find archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Contains full-text articles and citations from female-authored primary sources, manuscripts, newspapers and periodicals. Includes a topic finder.