A sample of EBP and Research eBooks
Kielhofner's Research in Occupational Therapy by
Discusses the newest forms of research and the philosophic basis of research. Covers all aspects of systematic inquiry, including qualitative research and quantitative research, and summarizes how inquiry is used in evidence-based practice. Explores statistical analysis, including meta-analysis-research design and measurement tools that are part of quantitative research. Incorporates OT-specific examples throughout the text. Presents contributions from an international team of authors, recognized experts in their fields. Features a consistent presentation in each chapter with highlighted quotes, feature boxes, tables, figures, and cross-referencing between chapters to enhance comprehension and navigation through the text. Includes a comprehensive glossary at the end of the book. Offers current sources for further study (journals, books, associations and Internet resources) in the appendix.
ISBN: 9780803640375Publication Date: 2017-01-12
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals by
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes:  a new chapter on systematic literature views;  a new chapter on research ethics;  a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Call Number: WY 20.5 J75i 2020 (ebook)ISBN: 9780367472535Publication Date: 2020-06-03
Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews
Healthcare decision makers in search of reliable information that compares health interventions increasingly turn to systematic reviews for the best summary of the evidence. Systematic reviews identify, select, assess, and synthesize the findings of similar but separate studies, and can help clarify what is known and not known about the potential benefits and harms of drugs, devices, and other healthcare services. Systematic reviews can be helpful for clinicians who want to integrate research findings into their daily practices, for patients to make well-informed choices about their own care, for professional medical societies and other organizations that develop clinical practice guidelines. Too often systematic reviews are of uncertain or poor quality. There are no universally accepted standards for developing systematic reviews leading to variability in how conflicts of interest and biases are handled, how evidence is appraised, and the overall scientific rigor of the process. In Finding What Works in Health Care the Institute of Medicine (IOM) recommends 21 standards for developing high-quality systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research. The standards address the entire systematic review process from the initial steps of formulating the topic and building the review team to producing a detailed final report that synthesizes what the evidence shows and where knowledge gaps remain. Finding What Works in Health Care also proposes a framework for improving the quality of the science underpinning systematic reviews. This book will serve as a vital resource for both sponsors and producers of systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research.
ISBN: 9780309164252Publication Date: 2011-07-20
Discover Occupational Therapy Multimedia Collections!
Core OT textbooks available online!
Multimedia content - videos, images, patient education materials.
Take a look at the wealth of resources you have available!
- LWW Health Library. Occupational Therapy (collection) This link opens in a new windowUse to find academic resources for the field of Occupational Therapy. Contains textbooks, videos, self-assessments, case reports, and more.
Find all LWW Health Library. Occupational Therapy textbooks in library's catalog - AccessNeurology This link opens in a new windowUse to find comprehensive academic neurology resources. Contains full-text of textbooks, self-assessment, clinical case files, quick reference and study tools and videos, images, and animations, in the field of neurology. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessNeurology collection textbooks in library's catalog - AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowUse to find comprehensive health science resources. Contains full-text textbooks, videos, images, animations, self-assessment, clinical case files, and quick reference and study tools for students studying health science. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine textbooks in the library's catalog
HAPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments - Tools for conducting research
A resource for finding behavioral measurement tools and instruments.
HaPI provides information on the following:
- Checklists
- Coding schemes
- Indexes
- Interview schedules
- Projective techniques
- Questionnaires
- Rating scales
- Surveys
- Tasks
- Tests
- Vignettes/scenarios
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments : HaPI This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources about behavioral measurement tools and instruments which are used across professions and disciplines, including nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior or human resources. They can be used to help researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests most relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals. Contains indexes of peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.
Tools for Patient Assessment
- Rehabilitation Measures DatabaseWith more than 500 measures and supported by some of the world's best doctors, clinicians, therapists, and physical medicine and rehabilitation researchers, the Rehabilitation Measures Database (RMD) is the go-to resource for benchmarks and outcomes.
National and Local Statistics
- County Health RankingsNationwide county-by-county health data presented in an easy to navigate format
- Health StatisticsA Subject Guide from the National Library of Medicine
- National Center for Health StatisticsUnited States health statistics from the CDC. Data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care
- National Center for Health Statistics annual reportThe National Center for Health Statistics annual compilation of statistics on health in the U.S.
- NHIS Interactive Data Query SystemsCreate custom downloads for statistics about infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can also be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and pattern
- STD Data and StatisticsInformation collected from 1996- 2021; Information can be customized to the state level by several parameters.