Noreen Reale Falcone Library: Occupational Therapy EBP Research Resources: What is Evidence Based Practice?

Where can I find an Introduction to EBP tutorial?

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice
A tutorial created by librarians at Duke University Medical Hospital and UNC-Chapel Hill

What are some EBP Resources at our Library?

PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 16,500 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible

Cochrane Library

Use to find high-quality systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research and health care decisions from a collection of six databases. Contains systematic reviews, clinical trials, methods studies, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.

POINT-OF-CARE: The two resources below are evidence-based point-of-care tools, and offer condition summaries, patient education materials, and references to clinical research used for evidence.

Rehabilitation Reference Center
Use to find evidence-based, point-of-care resources for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists and rehabilitation professionals. Contains citations, abstracts and full-text journal articles, clinical reviews and exercise images.
DynaMed Plus
Use to find evidence-based information for health care professionals to support clinical decision-making. Contains full-text peer-reviewed clinically-organized disease summaries, drug information and links to full-text journal articles.

Where would I find Evidence Based Information for Patients?

AccessMedicine
Use to find comprehensive health science resources. Contains full-text textbooks, videos, images, animations, self-assessment, clinical case files, and quick reference and study tools for students studying health science. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine textbooks in the library's catalog

Look for the Patient Ed tab in Access Medicine.

DynaMed Plus
Use to find evidence-based information for health care professionals to support clinical decision-making. Contains full-text peer-reviewed clinically-organized disease summaries, drug information and links to full-text journal articles.

In DynaMed, search your topic / condition, then scroll down the left column to Patient Information.

MEDLINEplus
Reliable health information for consumers from the National Library of Medicine. Very helpful interactive tutorials address a wide range of diagnoses in consumer-friendly terms. Contains full text documents from the National Institutes of Health and links to reviewed websites.

Rehabilitation Reference Center
Use to find evidence-based, point-of-care resources for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists and rehabilitation professionals. Contains citations, abstracts and full-text journal articles, clinical reviews and exercise images.

Check the Patient Education tab!