Welcome to the OT Program Library Guide
Welcome! This guide will introduce selected Library resources of interest to our Occupational Therapy students and fa
culty.
For Evidence-Based Practice Resources, try the OTM 510 / EBP Research Guide.
Your Librarian for the OT Program is Virginia Young, Health Sciences Librarian.
Please contact her with any questions or suggestions!
Find online course Textbooks here!
Conditions in Occupational Therapy 6th ed. by
Selected as a Doody''s Core Title for 2022! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. ​The only text covering the pathophysiology of common diseases specifically relative to Occupational Therapy practice, Conditions in Occupational Therapy: Effect on Occupational Performance, 6th Edition, combines the most up-to-date insights and an engaging approach to ready students for success from the classroom to clinical settings. This updated 6th Edition is fully aligned with the most current DSM-5 and Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 4th Edition, and adds new chapters reflecting recent advances in the management of infectious diseases, general deconditioning, musculoskeletal pain, amputations, and sickle cell anemia. Each chapter follows a consistent format, presenting an opening case followed by descriptions and definitions, etiology, incidence and prevalence, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, course and prognosis, medical/surgical management, impact on occupational performance, and two case illustrations. Rounded out with robust instructor resources and new full-color imagery, this bestselling resource is an essential tool for today''s occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students. NEW! Five new chapters detail current practices in the management of: Infectious Diseases General Deconditioning Musculoskeletal Pain (back, neck, upper and lower extremity) Amputations Sickle Cell Anemia NEW! Full-color images clarify concepts and procedures in vibrant detail. Updated content and references reflect the latest insights on the neurological basis for disorders, brain/behavior relationships for psychiatric disorders, and a consistent list of client factors affected by disorder. Integrated pathophysiology and occupational therapy coverage ensure a comprehensive understanding without the need for multiple texts. An intuitive organization groups disorders logically for fast, efficient reference. Chapter-ending Case Studies help you apply content to real-life clinical situations, including both pediatric and adult cases where relevant. Introductory Cases immerse you in chapter content for greater retention and understanding. In-text learning aids, including key terms, study questions, recommended learning resources, and special boxes, tables, and displays, help reinforce key concepts. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, audio and video tutorials, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781975153854Publication Date: 2022-02-22
Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781630912314Publication Date: 2016-08-15OTM 602 Textbook
Frames of Reference for Pediatric Occupational Therapy 4th ed. by
Frames of Reference for Pediatric Occupational Therapy, Fourth Edition , uses frames of reference (neuro-development, social participation, etc.) as effective blueprints for applying theory to pediatric OT practice. Updated with new chapters, case examples, and a new focus on evidence-based practice. This proven approach helps students understand the "why" of each frame of reference before moving on to the "how" of creating effective treatment programs to help pediatric clients lead richer, fuller lives. The book first covers the foundations of frames reference for pediatric OT (Section I), and then covers commonly used frames of reference such as motor skill acquisition, biomechanical, and sensory integration (Section II). A final section discusses newer focused/specific frames of reference like handwriting skills and social participation. A standardized format within each frame of reference chapter covers the same elements (Theoretical Base, Supporting Evidence, the Function/Dysfunction Continuum, Guide to Evaluation, and Application to Practice) to help students build the knowledge and skills needed for effective practice. Case Examples illustrate frames of references in action. NEW! Additional frames of reference --STAR approach to Sensory Processing Disorders, Anxiety and Depression in school age children, and a Strength Based Approach for Adolescents with Autism--are covered in three new chapters to better prepare students for everyday practice. NEW! Supporting Evidence sections in frames of reference chapters cover the evidence supporting each theory. EXPANDED! Evaluation sections cover new assessment instruments available to the OT practitioner and now include new real-world examples. NEW! Color images of actual clinicians working with actual patients , along with a wide range of updated photos and charts, illustrate key concepts and applications. Essential terms are defined within the theoretical base in each frame of reference Practical sections on the "Function/Dysfunction Continuum" indicate the severity of the dysfunction and outline the level of needed intervention. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781496395061Publication Date: 2019-01-04
Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy by
Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession is a comprehensive, introductory text that provides first year students with foundational knowledge of occupational therapy as a profession and the construct of occupation. Due to the broadness of the profession this text identifies basic concepts and areas to novice students and helps inform them of the topics and components they will come across later in their studies. Inside the text, Dr. Bernadette Hattjar provides a general introduction, the historical development of the profession, and a basic review of the three major employment areas- physical disabilities, pediatrics and psychosocial occupational therapy. It also covers the topics of theoretical constructs, legislative and political influences on the profession, the use of adaptive devices in concert with major client groups, and the identification of influential professional individuals. Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy analyzes the historical foundation, philosophical assumptions, ethical issues, core concepts, theories, models and frames of reference that have shaped the profession of occupational therapy. Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession will provide entry level occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students with the information and tools they need to better understand, synthesize, and integrate the diverse elements of the profession into professional level courses, where in-depth understanding of these basic concepts occur in education programs.
ISBN: 9781617115981Publication Date: 2018-09-14
Global Perspectives in Professional Reasoning by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781617116353Publication Date: 2016-04-15OTM 605 Textbook
Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781630913670Publication Date: 2017-07-30OTM 508 Textbook
The Meaning of Everyday Occupation by
Newly updated to address emerging directions in occupational therapy and occupational science, The Meaning of Everyday Occupation, Third Edition encourages occupational therapy personnel-students, educators, researchers, and practitioners-to recognize humans as occupational beings and to understand the meaning and significance of everyday occupation in day-to-day life. Written by award-winning and internationally known authors Drs. Betty Risteen Hasselkus and Virginia Allen Dickie, the Third Edition explores the concept of meaning as it relates to occupation in daily life. Each chapter is augmented by the authors' personal reflections, narratives from occupational therapists in practice, and quotations from participants in the authors' occupational research, creating a text in which the concepts and theories of occupation and occupational therapy come alive for the reader. Themes in the Third Edition include: Meaning in everyday life and its occupations Space and place as sources of meaning Culture in everyday occupation and in the context of therapy Well-being and development through everyday occupation Occupation as connection Disability and occupation Occupation and the human spirit Everyday creativity Emphasizing occupation as experience, the comprehensive Third Edition champions the contributions of meaning to a client-centered approach to practice. This brings forward a new understanding of how to therapeutically affect the systems in which we all live and work. The everyday occupation of our lives is often overlooked. By increasing the visibility of everyday occupation, The Meaning of Everyday Occupation, Third Edition offers readers the opportunity for personal reflection on day-to-day occupational patterns. By recognizing and acknowledging these patterns in their own lives, occupational therapy personnel can better understand how day-to-day occupation and disruption of that occupation affects the lives of clients.
Call Number: Textbook OTM 505ISBN: 9781630914837Publication Date: 2021-07-30
Occupational and Activity Analysis by
Newly updated to reflect the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process, Fourth Edition (OTPF-4), Occupational and Activity Analysis, Third Edition outlines the process of conducting occupational and activity analyses for occupational therapy students and clinicians.
Call Number: ebook OTM 501ISBN: 9781630918903Publication Date: 2022-08-30
Occupational Therapy Evaluation for Adults by ISBN: 9781451176193Publication Date: 2013-10-29OTM 601, 602, 604
Occupational Therapy Evaluation for Children: Pocket Guide by
Master the skills and concepts necessary to effectively perform efficient evaluations of children with Occupational Therapy Evaluation for Children: A Pocket Guide, 2nd Edition . Reflecting the latest AOTA standards, this pocket-sized guide is a quick,comprehensive reference you can use throughout your education and into practice. Providing an overview of theory as well as step-by-step coverage of techniques, the book includes clinical examples that illustrate the application of content, as well as client and family-centered practice; illustrations that demonstrate assessment techniques; and extensive tables that summarize key assessments, techniques, and actions." See how concepts apply to practice with real world clinical examples. Develop your skills and understanding with illustrations and photographs that demonstrate assessment techniques. Expand your knowledge with a wide range of additional assessments, including COPM, MOHO, Sensory Profile, and visual and hand assessments. · Develop practical skills for the workplace with new coverage of specialty areas, such as autism, where OTs have expanded their roles; up-to-date coverage of interview skills; information on IDEIA; and more." Quickly access any assessment of interest using the table of assessments that appears at the beginning of the book. Access a wide range of useful tools, including in-book tables that capture information in an easy-to-read manner and online sample evaluation forms.
ISBN: 9781451176179Publication Date: 2013-10-29
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780803659162Publication Date: 2019-01-30OTM 506 TextbookOccupational Therapy Practice Framework by
Call Number: Ebook single user licenseISBN: 9781569004883Publication Date: 2020-09-01OTM 501 Textbook
Orthotic Intervention for the Hand and Upper Extremity by ISBN: 9781451145304Publication Date: 2013-09-13OTM 602 Textbook
Pedretti's Occupational Therapy by ISBN: 9780323339278Publication Date: 2017-05-03OTM 601, 602, 604 Textbook
Practical Applications for the Occupational Therapy Code of Ethics (2015) by Call Number: Ebook single user licenseISBN: 9781569003879Publication Date: 2017-01-01OTM 504 Textbook
Identify books available at the OT Facility downtown
The downtown OT Library has a collection of print Textbooks and Reference books.
The image below shows how the Library catalog record location OT Facility is used to indicated that a copy of the book is downtown.
This record also shows how a link to an ebook appears, as this book is available in both print and ebook formats.
Discover Occupational Therapy Multimedia Collections!
Core OT textbooks available online!
Multimedia content - videos, images, patient education materials.
Take a look at the wealth of resources you have available!
- LWW Health Library. Occupational Therapy (collection) This link opens in a new windowUse to find academic resources for the field of Occupational Therapy. Contains textbooks, videos, self-assessments, case reports, and more.
Find all LWW Health Library. Occupational Therapy textbooks in library's catalog - AccessNeurology This link opens in a new windowUse to find comprehensive academic neurology resources. Contains full-text of textbooks, self-assessment, clinical case files, quick reference and study tools and videos, images, and animations, in the field of neurology. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessNeurology collection textbooks in library's catalog - AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowUse to find comprehensive health science resources. Contains full-text textbooks, videos, images, animations, self-assessment, clinical case files, and quick reference and study tools for students studying health science. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine textbooks in the library's catalog