Welcome to the Psychology Resource Guide!
Welcome! This guide gathers together Library resources for your studies in Psychology at Le Moyne.
If you are in PSY 315, there is a guide just for that class linked below.
Please use the green tabs on the left to find help with different types of resources.
Get started finding research articles (the "literature") by scrolling down this page!
What does Primary or Secondary source mean?
What is a Primary Research Article?
In a primary research article, author(s) present a new set of findings from original research after conducting their own experiment or study.
Example: Maier, W., Lichtermann, D., Minges, J., Heun, R., & Hallmayer, J. (1993). The impact of gender and age at onset on the familial aggregation of schizophrenia. European Archives of Psychiatry and Clinical Neuroscience, 242(5), 279–285. https://doi.org/10.1007/BF02190387
What is a Secondary Source Article?
A secondary source provides an analysis of other sources. No original data is collected. Secondary research will cite the original source of data used, such as government statistics or datasets.
Example: Garb, H. N. (2021). Race bias and gender bias in the diagnosis of psychological disorders. Clinical Psychology Review, 90. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cpr.2021.102087
Best Bets for Psychology
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowUse to find peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences,mental health and related disciplines. Contains citations, abstracts and full-text scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Sourced from the American Psychological Association (APA).
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowUse to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on topics in psychology. Contains full-text articles from APA-published journals, Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, the Educational Publishing Foundation and more. Sourced from the American Psychological Association (APA).
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new windowUse to find scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA), as well as historical and classic works from the behavioral and social sciences. Contains full-text eBooks. Sourced from the American Psychological Association (APA).
Find all PsycBooks in library's catalog - ProQuest Central. Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals in clinical and social psychology as well as related disciplines such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. Also includes full text dissertations from a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology.
- ProQuest Central.Social Science databaseProvides indexing and full text articles for hundreds of academic journals across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Additional Sources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse to find interdisciplinary articles from academic publishers, professional societies, institutional and preprint repositories posted on the web. Use the "Find @ Le Moyne Library" links in the search results as well as other links provided by the search engine to locate the full-text of articles. Contains full-text and abstracts of scholarly articles.
How to Use - PubMed This link opens in a new windowUse to find a free and accessible version of MedLine from the National Library of Medicine, a database that contains references to peer-reviewed articles about life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains citations and abstracts from over 4000 medical and biomedical journals in the U.S. and other countries. Sourced from the National Library of Medicine.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly and popular articles in nearly every area of academic study. It is a great place to start your research on a topic and it’s also great for interdisciplinary research. Contains full-text articles and abstracts from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, videos and images. - Child Welfare Information Gateway This link opens in a new windowProvides information/links to publications, websites, databases about child welfare, abuse, neglect, adoption and more.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments : HaPI This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources about behavioral measurement tools and instruments which are used across professions and disciplines, including nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior or human resources. They can be used to help researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests most relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals. Contains indexes of peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.
- Mental Measurements Yearbooks with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowUse to find information on contemporary testing instruments within psychology, education, business, and leadership, designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals. Contains full-text evaluations of test products. All entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and reviews written by area experts.
