Audios/Videos
Use The Gramophone Classical Music Guide to find reviews of recordings of classical music in CD, DVD and electronic formats.
Use library's catalog to locate music CDs and vinyl records.
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowUse to find streaming videos in a wide range of academic subject areas. Contains video documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.
- Global Music Archive This link opens in a new window Multi-media reference archive for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas.
Song Lyrics
- MLDb, the Music Lyrics Database This link opens in a new window A music lyrics database with 220 000+ song lyrics and more than 10000 artists.
- LiederNet Archive This link opens in a new window Use to find text and translations of a wide range of vocal music. Contains texts and translations to Lieder, melodies, art songs, choral pieces, and other vocal music. The website is indexed by composer, text, poet or author, first line, title, or language.
- Folk Song Index This link opens in a new window An index to traditional folk songs of the world with an emphasis on English-language songs. Each entry includes the song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse, and full bibliographic information on the source. The index contains over 62,000 entries, and, to date indexes over 2,400 anthologies.
References
- Music Online. African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window Use to find information and images on blues, jazz, spirituals, gospel, ragtime, civil rights songs, rhythm and blues, hip hop and rap and other forms of African American musical expression. Contains full-text from major reference works, personal narratives and oral interviews, manuscripts, song sheets, biographies, lyrics, discography data.
- Music Online. Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window Use to find definitions and biographical information covering Western classical music from the medieval period through today. Contains full-text musical and notational terms, score and lyric excerpts, images, biographical information on major composers and artists, music score and lyric excerpts, musical and notation terms, taken from essential reference sources, including Baker's Dictionary of Music; Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians; Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music and other titles.
- Music Online. Classical Scores Library. Volumes I - IV This link opens in a new window On-campus link to the database
- Music Online. The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window Use to find descriptions of different musical genres, practices, performances from around the world. Contains the full-text of the print encyclopedia, audio examples, musical illustrations, photographs, and drawings.
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) This link opens in a new window Use to find music scores, recordings, and information about musical works that are in the public domain. Contains scores, publishing information, and recordings that can be downloaded for free.
- Music Treasures Consortium (Performing Arts Encyclopedia, Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window Online access to music manuscripts and print materials from 16th to 20th centuries, held at the world renowned music archives.
Print resources:
Baker's biographical dictionary of twentieth-century classical musicians Ref ML105 .S612 1997
Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians Ref ML105 .B16 2001
The encyclopedia of popular music (3rd ed.) Ref ML102.P66 G84 1998
The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians (2nd ed.) Ref ML100 .N48 2001
Journal Articles (Databases)
- JSTOR. Archival Journals This link opens in a new windowUse to find scholarly journal collections from leading academic journals from disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics and sciences. Contains full-text articles and abstracts from leading academic journals, eBooks and primary sources. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowUse to find scholarly articles, and e-books for the humanities and social sciences. Contains full-text scholarly articles and e-books.