Use The Gramophone Classical Music Guide to find reviews of recordings of classical music in CD, DVD and electronic formats.
Use library's catalog to locate music CDs and vinyl records.
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOn-campus link to the database
Academic Video Online covers a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Find all Academic Video Online in library's catalog
- Global Music Archive This link opens in a new window Multi-media reference archive for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas.
- NPR Music This link opens in a new window Music news, concerts and videos.
- Pandora Internet Radio This link opens in a new window A online music streaming and automated music recommendation service.
- YouTube. UNESCO TV This link opens in a new window Videos produced by or in cooperation with the UNESCO.
- MLDb, the Music Lyrics Database This link opens in a new window A music lyrics database with 220 000+ song lyrics and more than 10000 artists.
- LiederNet Archive This link opens in a new window Includes: texts and translations to Lieder, melodies, art songs, choral pieces, and other vocal music.
- Folk Song Index This link opens in a new window An index to traditional folk songs of the world with an emphasis on English-language songs. Each entry includes the song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse, and full bibliographic information on the source. The index contains over 62,000 entries, and, to date indexes over 2,400 anthologies.
- Music Online. African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window On-campus link to the database Includes: full-text from major reference works, personal narratives and oral interviews, manuscripts, songsheets, lyrics, discography data.
- Music Online. Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window On-campus link to the database Includes: Baker's dictionary of Music; Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians; Baker's student encyclopedia of music. and other titles. Contains: musical and notational terms, score and lyric excerpts, biographical info, images biographical information on major composers and artists, music score and lyric excerpts, musical and notation terms. Coverage: medieval to the 21st century
- Music Online. Classical Scores Library. Volumes I - IV This link opens in a new window On-campus link to the database
- Music Online. The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window On-campus link to the database Includes: over 9000 description of different musical genres, practices, performances
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) This link opens in a new window Public domain music scores.
- Music Treasures Consortium (Performing Arts Encyclopedia, Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window Online access to music manuscripts and print materials from 16th to 20th centuries, held at the world renowned music archives.
Baker's biographical dictionary of twentieth-century classical musicians Ref ML105 .S612 1997
Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians Ref ML105 .B16 2001
The encyclopedia of popular music (3rd ed.) Ref ML102.P66 G84 1998
The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians (2nd ed.) Ref ML100 .N48 2001
Journal Articles (Databases)
- JSTOR. Archival Journals This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles and books in 75 subject areas.
Coverage: The availability of most journals on JSTOR is controlled by a "moving wall," which is an agreed-upon delay, usually three to five years.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window