Mathematics Subject Categories in the Journal Finder
Browse the Journal Finder by Subject
- Mathematics: Algebra
- Mathematics: Calculus
- Mathematics: Elementary Mathematics & Arithmetic
- Mathematics: Geometry
- Mathematics: Mathematical Statistics
- Mathematics: Mathematical Theory
- Mathematics: Mathematics - General
- Mathematics: Mathematics Teaching & Research
- Engineering & Applied Sciences: Applied Mathematics
- Social Sciences: Statistics - General
Notable Journals
We subscribe to the following journals which are not indexed in our databases:
The American Statistician: Current national and international statistical problems and programs, interesting and fun articles of a general nature about statistics and its applications, and articles on the teaching of statistics.
Interfaces: Published bimonthly, a journal which describes practical applications of Operations Research and Management Science to decisions and policies in today's organizations. Each article provides details of the completed application, along with the results and impact on the organization. Essential reading for analysts, engineers, project managers and consultants, present and future.
Journal of the American Statistical Association: This quarterly is considered the premier publication of statistical science. Articles focus on statistical applications, theory, and methods. Also contains book reviews.
The Mathematical Intelligencer: This journal publishes articles about mathematics, mathematicians, and the history and culture of mathematics. It presents expository articles on all kinds of mathematics and interdisciplinary trends, and articles that portray the diversity of mathematical communities and mathematical thought. The journal also features information on emergent mathematical communities around the world, new interdisciplinary trends, and relations between mathematics and other areas of culture. The Library carries the current year's publication in print; all prior years are available electronically.
Journal Abbreviations
If you are writing a paper using a citation style that requires you abbreviate the title of the journal source, how do you know what is acceptable? Check these sources for recommendations but also check the style guide to be sure to know what punctuation may be required -- e.g, should it be Mach. Learn. or Mach Learn?
- American Mathematical Society Journal Abbreviations (PDF)A PDF file of Math Reviews (MathSciNet) abbreviations of serials with full-title information and ISSN's.
- CASSI : CAS Source IndexCASSI contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907. Search publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes.
- Genamics JournalSeekJournal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category and ISSN. Searching this information allows the rapid identification of potential journals to publish your research in, as well as allow you to find new journals of interest to your field.
- IEEE Abbreviations (PDF)A PDF document with abbreviations of current and past Transactions, Journals, Letters, and Magazines of the IEEE.
- ISSN List of Title Word AbbreviationsIt is a list that contains all the standardized abbreviations used for words in scientific citations. It is based on ISO 4, which defines a uniform system for the abbreviation of journal titles.
- Journal Abbreviation DatabaseThis database is a compilation drawn from many sources. The only caveat is that the journal entries do not provide provenance for the abbreviation so there is no way to determine if they are standard.
- Mathematical Reviews (MR) Coverage and AbbreviationsList of journals covered in MathSciNet (aka Mathematical Reviews)
- MathSciNet JournalsEnter a journal abbreviation, journal name, partial name, or an ISSN.
- NLM Catalog: JournalsSearch the National Library of Medicine catalog by journal title, abbreviation, or ISSN to find journals referenced in the NCBI databases.
- Science and Engineering Journal AbbreviationsThis database, maintained by Kevin Linstrom at the University of British Columbia, provides abbreviations for journals in Science and Engineering related fields.
- Web of Science Journal AbbreviationsThis index contains all of the cited works in Web of Science. Note that ISI's abbreviations are non-standard, but may be a useful if you need an abbreviation connected to Web of Science or Current Contents.
- Zentralblatt für Mathematik Journal AbbreviationsSearch zbMath for abbreviations of journals and serials that are indexed by Zentralblatt für Mathematik, with full-title information and ISSNs. Zentralblatt has some titles that are not listed by Math Reviews.