Mathematics

Search Tips

Two articles were published in the Notices of the American Mathematical Society in 2019 providing in-depth tips on search MathSciNet.

Dunne, Edward. 2019. “Everything in Its Right Place: An Expert Guide to Searching with MathSciNet.” Notices of the American Mathematical Society 66 (8):1320-24. https://doi.org/10.1090/noti1932

Dunne, Edward. 2019. “Everything in Its Right Place: Part II An Expert Guide to Searching with MathSciNet.” Notices of the American Mathematical Society 66 (9):1501-6. https://doi.org/10.1090/noti1961

Do you know the database you need to search?

• Find Databases – Browse databases by name, subject or type.

Not sure what database will fit your topic best?

• Subject Guides – Browse a library guide written for your subject which identifies key databases and other research starting points.
• ProQuest Central – Search across multiple full-text databases on the ProQuest platform.
• Academic Search Premier – Search this research database that covers many topics.

Have an article citation (partial or full) or just a journal title?

• Find Articles By Citation – If you have a fairly complete citation, try entering the information into this form. The form will try to find a match in the Library's collection.
• Find Journals – Search by journal title or browse by subject. Then look for a link to the contents of the online journal. If the journal is a title we have in print, head to the shelf.

Still not finding what you need?

• Request From Interlibrary Loan – Order your article from another library.
• Ask Us! – A librarian is here to help you.