Noreen Reale Falcone Library: NSG 615: Advanced Research: Find Research Literature / Articles

Databases and their specialties

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly articles in nursing and allied health fields, including topics of medicine, alternative therapies, consumer health, nursing standards, and research instruments. Contains full-text articles and books, abstracts and citations, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, quick lessons, video and audio and full-text of Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Includes a Subject Heading feature, which allows students to identify proper subject headings and keywords to locate relevant articles.
ProQuest Central. Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Nursing Science, Alternative Medicine, Periodicals and Newspapers
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Behavorial Science, Social issues, Psychology, Perceptions, Attitudes
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Use to find a free and accessible version of MedLine from the National Library of Medicine, a database that contains references to peer-reviewed articles about life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains citations and abstracts from over 4000 medical and biomedical journals in the U.S. and other countries. Sourced from the National Library of Medicine.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
On-campus link to the database

A collection of six databases that contain systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research.

USPSTF
The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications. All recommendations are published on the Task Force’s Web site and/or in a peer-reviewed journal.

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
Use to find evidence-based information for health care professionals to support clinical decision-making. Contains full-text peer-reviewed clinically-organized disease summaries, drug information and links to full-text journal articles.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window
Use to find evidence-based information and guidance for health professionals to inform decisions made at the point of care. Contains best practice information sheets, evidence summaries, recommended practices, systematic review protocols, and systemic reviews. Sourced from JBI (formerly the Joanna Briggs Institute).
TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice) This link opens in a new window
Use to find online resources useful for evidence-based practice for healthcare professionals, allowing them to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Contains full-text systematic reviews, evidence-based synopses, patient information leaflets, practice guidelines, articles from core journals, and e-textbooks. Also links out to articles in PubMed and searches MEDLINE's Clinical Queries and medical image databases.

ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
Access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Use to find a free and accessible version of MedLine from the National Library of Medicine, a database that contains references to peer-reviewed articles about life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains citations and abstracts from over 4000 medical and biomedical journals in the U.S. and other countries. Sourced from the National Library of Medicine.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
On-campus link to the database

A collection of six databases that contain systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments : HaPI This link opens in a new window
Use to find resources about behavioral measurement tools and instruments which are used across professions and disciplines, including nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior or human resources. They can be used to help researchers, students, and clinicians locate questionnaires, interviews, and other tests most relevant to their investigations, theses, dissertations, and grant proposals. Contains indexes of peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.