EBP eBooks
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals by
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes:  a new chapter on systematic literature reviews;  a new chapter on research ethics;  a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
ISBN: 9780429329456Publication Date: 2020-05-13
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition by
This is a pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in short sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and state-of-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet Status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. It differentiates between EBP and research, a difficult concept for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care features examples that demonstrate the practical application of content. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the second edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet Status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care with plentiful examples
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780826194077Publication Date: 2015-09-28
Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice by
The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and midwifery and mirrors the remit of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice provides insights into the key contextual issues to be considered in the implementation and assessment of evidence-based practice. Increasingly, implementation research is demonstrating that for evidence to be successfully implemented into practice, the context of practice needs to be considered. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice addresses professional, educational, and organizational contextual issues that impact on the implementation of evidence into practice and the bringing about of practice change. Practical strategies that have been used effectively to overcome these contextual issues in a range of healthcare settings are identified. Specific contextual issues in different care settings are also addressed e.g. acute care, primary health care, peri-operative settings, paediatrics, aged care, mental health, midwifery. Each chapter is written by an internationally known and respected author, with experience of developing or reviewing contextual strategies that have an impact on the implementation and utilisation of research in practice. They explore how gaining a better understanding of context made a difference to the implementation process or outcome and address the potential to transfer different approaches to a range of healthcare settings. An informative, practical resource for nurses and other health care professionals Explores context-related models and approaches to implementation Informs implementation and enables effective decision making Critically appraises contextual factors across the spectrum of care Explores future directions and implications Includes case examples
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781118275887Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Evidence-Based Nursing by
What is evidence-based nursing? Simply, it is the application of valid, relevant, and research-based information in nurse decision-making. Used effectively, evidence-based nursing methods can be used to dramatically enhance patient care and improve outcomes. Evidence-based Nursing is a practical guide to evidence-based nursing for students and practitioners. Proceeding step-by-step, it enables nurses to understand and evaluate the different types of evidence that are available, and to critically appraise the studies that lay behind them. It also considers the ways in which these findings can be implemented in clinical practice, and how research can be practically applied to clinical-decision making. Easy to use step-by-step approach Explores all aspects of the evidence-based nursing process Includes updates of popular articles from Evidence-based Nursing Examines dissemination and implementation of research findings in clinical practice Includes clinical scenarios Chapters include learning exercises to aid understanding Evidence-based Nursing is a vital resource for students and practitioners wanting to learn more about research based nursing methods.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781405145978Publication Date: 2007-12-26
