Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies Research Guide

Located in the heart of Washington, D.C., the National Museum of Women in the Arts brings recognition to the achievements of women artists of all periods and nationalities.

Celebrating and documenting the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women, VG is one of the internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color. They provide innovative teaching and research tools for accessing a global community of women writers of color living and dead, obscure and renowned.

To inspire all current and future generations, the Museum preserves, presents, and advances the artistic legacy of Georgia O’Keeffe and Modernism through innovative public engagement, education, and research. New Searchable Database: 3,000 Works from the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum & Research Center

UN Women is the United Nations entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide.

The International Center for Research on Women's mission is to empower women, advance gender equality and fight poverty in the developing world. To accomplish this, the ICRW works with partners to conduct empirical research, build capacity and advocate for evidence-based, practical ways to change policies and programs.

The Feminist Majority Foundation's webpage dedicated to providing resources about gender equity in athletics.

The mission of the National Women's History Museum is to tell the stories of women who transformed our nation. They will do that through a growing state-of-the-art online presence and a future physical museum to educate, inspire, empower, shape the future, and provide a complete view of American history.

The main purposes of this virtual library are to list women's history institutions and organizations, locate archival and library collections, and provide links to Internet resources on women's history. In addition, also included are a list of women's studies journals and a few comprehensive link collections useful as a starting point for searching the Internet for women's studies in general.

The Schlesinger Library is the leading center for scholarship on the history of women in the United States. As part of Harvard Radcliffe Institute, they are devoted to catalyzing new research and to sharing it broadly with scholars and an engaged public. The Schlesinger Library holdings date from the founding of the United States to the present and include more than 3,200 manuscript collections, 100,000 volumes of books and periodicals, and films, photos, and audiovisual material.

Women Philosophers dot com, founded in 2007, was a site that quickly became the "first stop" for students, faculty and those who were intellectually curious about women's contributions to Philosophy. Now in retirement, its creator Dr. Kate Lindemann has graciously permitted The Society for the Study of Women Philosophers to be custodian of its past and steward of its future.

Documenting the partnership of Harvard Business School and Radcliffe College, Building the Foundation: Business Education for Women at Harvard University, 1937—1970 traces the programs and events that led to the 1962 HBS faculty vote to admit women directly into the full MBA program. These programs and their graduates broke new ground for women in business education and in the business world.

Despite its name, WomensLaw.org provides information that is relevant to people of all genders, not just women. Their Email Hotline will provide legal information to anyone who reaches out with legal questions or concerns regarding domestic violence, sexual violence, or any other topic covered on WomensLaw.org.

A leader in health policy analysis and health journalism, KFF is dedicated to filling the need for trusted information on national health issues, including issues related to women's health policy issues.

Discover the many ways that women have influenced and enhanced the practice of medicine. The individuals featured here provide an intriguing glimpse of the broader community of women doctors who are making a difference. The National Library of Medicine is pleased to present this exhibition honoring the lives and accomplishments of these women in the hope of inspiring a new generation of medical pioneers.

The Legacy Center is the repository for the records and heritage of the Drexel University College of Medicine and its predecessor institutions, including Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania (W/MCP) and Hahnemann University. Use the digital collections to explore the history of women in medicine and the history of homeopathic medicine.

This resource from The George Washington University discusses the need for hiring and retaining excellent women leaders in today's increasingly complex healthcare organizations.

The Emory Women Writers Resource Project is a collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing from the seventeenth century through the early twentieth century.

The goal of A Celebration of Women Writers is to comprehensively list online editions of works by women writers, and resources about women writers, which are freely readable online. They date from 3000 BC(E) to present day.

The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.

The Monstrous Feminine in Literature and Art A bibliographic site created by Dr. Kathleen L. Nichols of Pittsburgh State University.

Women authors appear throughout these pages, and "women authors" is a subhead under most of the period-specific pages. This page is devoted to sites on women's literature, feminist criticism, and gender studies generally.
(NOTE: some links may be out-of-date.)

A strong advocate of women's rights and a peer of Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Gage's home is located in Fayetteville, NY, within minutes of Le Moyne's campus. Explore her rich heritage through this website.

The Florence Nightingale Digitization Project website allows researchers to search the original letters of Florence Nightingale by date, author, subject and partner name.
The collection currently contains over 2,300 scanned letters or direct links to partners' websites, which are accessible to the public through the portal hosted by Boston University.

This is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students. The collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors.

The struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, ALIC presents a listing of web sites relevant to women in the United States.

The Women’s Library collection tells the story of the campaign for women’s rights and women’s equality from the beginnings of the suffrage movement to the present day. The collection includes UNESCO-recognised documents, rare books, and objects such as original suffrage banners. The majority of the material dates from the late 19th century to present day and the focus is mainly UK.

4,000 years of women in science, in technology and other altogether creative stuff. Science is a traditional role for women. Dr. Deborah Crocker at the University of Alabama and Dr. Sethanne Howard retired from the US Naval Observatory maintain this site. They are both astronomers. They dedicate this site to all those wonderful women of our past. Contains brief biographies of selected female scientists, many from the pre-19th century.

The Archives of Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) includes personal and professional papers of women in all areas of the sciences and engineering, except that of the medical sciences, as well as records of women’s organizations in these fields.

ACM-W supports, celebrates, and advocates internationally for the full engagement of women in all aspects of the computing field, providing a wide range of programs and services to ACM members and working in the larger community to advance the contributions of technical women.

The women scientists profiled here span several centuries and several nationalities. Despite many barriers, women all over the world have participated in unraveling the secrets of nature since the dawn of civilization. As historian of science Naomi Oreskes said recently, "The question is not why there haven't been more women in science; the question is rather why we have not heard more about them."

These pages are part of an on-going project at Agnes Scott College in Atlanta, Georgia, to illustrate the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics. Here you can find biographical essays or comments on the women mathematicians profiled on this site, as well as additional resources about women in mathematics.