Most Important Web Tools
- NIST Chemistry WebBookThermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
- ChemSpiderA chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 55 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- PubChemPubChem is an open chemistry database from National Institutes of Health (NIH). It provides information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
You can also find links to peer-reviewed literature in PubChem.
Other Useful Web Tools
- ChemTubeChemTube3D contains interactive 3D chemistry animations and structures, with supporting information, for students studying some of the most important topics in chemistry.
- Wolfram|Alpha Wolfram|Alpha contains a wealth of chemistry data, and provides you with chemical computations in the context of a given search. Wolfram|Alpha is an effective learning tool for students looking for ways to learn and test their knowledge of chemistry basics.
- TOXNET Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
- Household Products Database What's under your kitchen sink, in your garage, in your bathroom, and on the shelves in your laundry room? Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling.
- Landolt-Börnstein Substance / Property Index Landolt-Börnstein Substance / Property Index is the quickest and most convenient way to find information about substances and related properties. Organic Compounds are best searched by molecular formula whereas a search for element system is most suitable for inorganic substances. Syracuse University owns this reference work.
- Bordwell pKa Table (Acidity in DMSO) This page was created by Professor Hans J Reich at the University of Wisconsin-Madison as reference material for organic chemists. It provides equilibrium constants pKa of many organic compounds with pKa values from 0-35 in DMSO.
- BRENDA : Comprehensive Enzyme Information System Over 3500 enzymes are covered, classified according to the Enzyme Commission (E.C.) numbering system. The database gives a representative overview on the characteristics and variability of each enzyme but is not a compendium.
- Genome Biology (NCBI) Genome Biology, from the NCBI, provides several genomic biology tools and resources, including organism-specific pages that include links to many web sites and databases relevant to that species
Patent Databases
These databases specialize in searching patent literature and are sources for the full-text of patents.
- European Patent Office60 million patents from 85 countries with PDF facsimiles for US (1836 onward), DE (1877 onward), GB (1859 onward), JP (1976 onward), and EP and WO (1978 onward).
Spectroscopy Databases
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds : SDBSSDBS integrated spectral database includes electron impact Mass (EI-MS), Fourier transform infrared (FT-IR), 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), 13C NMR, laser Raman, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectra.
Preparation and Reaction Resources
SciFinder's CASREACT database should be a first choice, but there are free online sources that you might also consider.
- The Chemical Thesaurus Reaction Chemistry DatabaseReaction chemistry information system. A particular interaction, reaction or process can be found by searching for the chemical entities.