What are OER - Open Educational Resources?
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that are free of cost and access barriers, and which can be fully used, shared and adapted in the digital environment.
What are OER? Why use OER? Where is OER? How is OER created? Who can help?
OER Resources for Business and Management
- BCcampus OpenEdBCcampus offers a wide variety of business textbooks that are reviewed by faculty, with some including supplementary material. They also offer a collection of textbooks that are accessible.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)All books listed in DOAB are freely accessible and therefore free to read, but this does not mean readers are free to do anything they like with these books. The usage rights of the books in DOAB are determined by the license.
- MERLOTMERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a single search source that pulls OER resources from a variety of existing collections.
- Open Textbook LibraryThis site offers a collection of open textbooks. Most are available for download as PDF or EPUB.
Examples of OER Textbooks
Introduction to Business
"Introduction to Business covers the scope and sequence of most introductory business courses. The book provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of business concepts, with attention to the knowledge and skills necessary for student success in this course and beyond."--From BCcampus OpenEd
Business Ethics
"Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility."--From BCcampus OpenEd
Sustainable Management Practices
"This book encapsulates the advanced concept of sustainable management and will enlighten readers to understand this concept for practical applications. The book's salient features are as follows: • Illustrates the basic concepts of human psychology causing risk factors such as burnout; • Differentiates adaptive sustainable measures and management practices; • Emphasizes sustainable agriculture management to confront the current dynamic environment and defines specific rules for enterprise development while coping with global climate change; • Assesses inertia with respect to economic development; • Constructs the linkage between technological strategies and innovation among construction companies; • Demonstrates non-financial reporting through theoretical and empirical evidence; • Elucidates the principles of equality, elaborating the managing of equality and diversity in a Steiner school."-- From IntechOpen.
Digital Accessibility as a Business Practice
"Most business leaders would agree that reaching the broadest audience is good for a business’s bottom line. A good portion of that audience will be people with disabilities. How, though, would an organization go about ensuring it is as accessible as it can be to all its potential clients or customers, including people with disabilities? This book has been created to answer this question, and to demystify “digital accessibility” as a business practice. It brings together all the pieces of the digital accessibility picture, and provides strategies and resources that will help make digital accessibility a part of an organization’s business culture."--From Open Textbook Library
OER Courses for Business
- Open Culture-- Business courses listingThis site includes 150 free courses relating to business to further education development. Instructions for how to take the courses for free are included on the website.
- Open Learn--Free Business CoursesThis site has many different courses relating to business that are free to take. Each listing details the level of difficulty for the course, the time it takes to complete the course, and when the course was uploaded to the site.
- Master Class Management Training and Leadership Skills CourseThis is a free self-paced course for those interested in pursuing their MBA (or really anyone who might want to learn more about leadership). In order to earn the certificate, you will have to pay to take the exam.
- MIT Open Courseware--BusinessA collection of previously taught graduate and undergraduate courses from MIT that have free resources available online including lecture notes and videos, textbooks, and class assignment and project examples.