Additional Tools for Biology Research
- AccessNeurology This link opens in a new windowUse to find comprehensive academic neurology resources. Contains full-text of textbooks, self-assessment, clinical case files, quick reference and study tools and videos, images, and animations, in the field of neurology. Sourced from McGraw-Hill Publishers.
Find all McGraw-Hill's AccessNeurology collection textbooks in library's catalog - ArXiv.org ePrint Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A preprint service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science computer science, and quantitative biology. - Birds of the World This link opens in a new windowUse to find information about birds from Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World. Contains species and family accounts, maps, illustrations, videos, audio recordings, bird observations and other tools from the Cornell Ornithological Lab.
- BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) This link opens in a new window
- GenBank This link opens in a new windowThe NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowUse to find scholarly articles related to geology and geoscience. Contains full-text of scholarly journal articles and citations, dissertations, and conference articles.
- Global Biodiversity Information Facility This link opens in a new windowCollection of biodiversity information on Earth.
- Global Invasive Species DatabasePresents invasive alien species that threaten native biodiversity. Covers all groups from micro-organisms to animals and plants.
- GreenFile This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources about environmental science. Contains full-text and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals and magazines, images, and reports.
- OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of human genes and genetic disorders.
- PLANTS DatabaseThe PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
- PrimateLit: a Bibliographic Database for Primatology This link opens in a new windowIncludes: indexes the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. In Nov. 2010, this site is no longer being updated.
- ProQuest Central. Biology Database This link opens in a new windowUse to find information on a wide range of topics in biology. Contains abstracts and full-text scholarly articles, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
- The Visible Human ProjectCreated by the National Library of Medicine, this is a complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.
- WildfinderMaintained by World Wildlife Fund, this tool lets you search for species in particular place (by city, zip code, or country) or search a species name to see where it lives. The results list the species' scientific name, common name, threat status, distribution map, and a link to images found on Google.