History Research Guide

Use to find resources about the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Contains full-text and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, conference papers, books, and videos.

Use to find scholarly and popular articles in nearly every area of academic study. It is a great place to start your research on a topic and it’s also great for interdisciplinary research. Contains full-text articles and abstracts from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, videos and images.

Use to find citations and abstracts covering US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present day. Contains indexing for journal articles, citations and links to full-text books.

Includes: collections of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress and other institutions that document the American experience

Use to find information about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, covering the history of European exploration, natural disasters, disease, slavery, pirates, commerce, religion, portrayals of Native Americans and more. Contains index of primary source records. Sourced from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.

Use to find citations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Contains citations for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies. Open URL- and Zotero-enabled.

Use to find scholarly journal collections from leading academic journals from disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics and sciences. Contains full-text articles and abstracts from leading academic journals, eBooks and primary sources. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.

Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. For more than 25 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies.