Databases
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowUse to find industry reports for over 700 U.S. market segments. Each report presents an overview, industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Reports are used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence, and more.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new windowIndustry profiles, which include Porter's Five Forces analysis, domestic and international company profiles, which include SWOT analysis, and country profiles based on the PESTLE framework. Also included is market research, case studies, financials, news, and statistics.
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowUse to find business and industry content for domestic and international companies. Includes industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, investment reports, business news and articles from scholarly journals, and over 460,000 company profiles.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for over 1,000 business publications with articles dating from the present back to 1985. More than 10,000 company profiles are also included.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowUse to find extensive information on the topic of business. Contains full-text academic articles, dissertations, working papers, industry reports, case studies, and market information.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new windowUse to find company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, which includes global public and non-public companies, OxResearch, which includes succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments, as well as other reports on global industries and market research.
- Mergent Archives This link opens in a new windowUse to find global corporate and industry related documents. Contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries, including background information as well as reports and financials. Mergent Archives includes access to new and historical documents.
- S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowUse to find critical business and financial data including information on companies, revenues, executives, industries, stocks and bonds, mutual funds, earnings, dividends, strategic investment and business advice, and industry reports. Contains industry surveys and sub-industry data, industry benchmarks (key stats & ratios) and company level comparisons, stock reports, company descriptions and financials. Sourced from Standard and Poor.
How to Use Business Insights: Essentials
How to Use Business Insights: Essentials
The following video provides an overview of the basic search and navigation features.
How to Use IBISWorld
How to Use IBISWorld
- Search by industry, keyword, company, or NAICS code
- Search across the entire database by using the search box on the homepage or the one in the top right corner of every page.
- Browse by US Industry Reports or US Business Environment Profiles
- On the top banner, select Industry Research to browse a selection US Industry Reports or US Business Environment Profiles. With a report selected, use left navigation to easily browse report’s sections. Also, use the Search box at top in left navigation to use a keyword search within the report.
- Downloading reports
- With the report opened, click the Download icon
next to the report title and select PDF or Excel format. Within the report, click the Download icon next to the tables to download individual tables.
- With the report opened, click the Download icon
- Tip
- To return to Homepage, click IBISWorld logo at top left on every page.
Find NAICS and SIC Codes
What Are NAICS and SIC Codes
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is used to classify business industries for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is also sometimes used but is gradually being phased out in favor of NAICS.
Once the know the appropriate industry code is know, it can make finding information about that industry, or business within that industry, much easier.
How to Find an Industry's NAICS or SIC Code
- NAICS website
- Use the keyword search to search by the name of the industry. For example, by searching Grocery you will find a number of NAISC codes related to that industry
- If you are not finding what you are looking for through keyword search, you can select the most recent reference file and drill down to the appropriate industry. For example, Retail Trade > Grocery and Convenience Retailers
- SIC Lookup
- Use the keyword or drill down by division and group
Find a Company's Industry Code
If you want to find out what industry code is assigned to a particular company, you can use IBISWorld. Simply search by the company name to find the associated code. Note - some companies, especially large ones, can have more than one industry code.