Documenting Sources
Documenting Sources: Footnotes/Endnotes
Use the most current version of the Chicago Manual of Style to document sources for History projects.
The examples on this page provide models for use in your own paper. If none of those seem to fit, ask your professor, a librarian, or consult the Chicago Manual of Style on the Purdue Online Writing Lab.
PRO TIP: When formatting endnotes/footnotes in Chicago style think of the note as a sentence! The elements of the sentence are separated by commas, not periods, like in the bibliography. Also, in a sentence, you'd never refer to an author last name first, right?
Documenting Sources: Bibliography
A bibliography is additional to your endnotes/footnotes, and appears at the very end of your paper.
It has hanging indents (here is a video on making a hanging indent in word and a link to making a hanging indent in Google Docs ), and is arranged alphabetically by the author's last name
Primary and secondary sources should be separated in your final bibliography. List all primary sources first, followed by secondary sources, subdivided between books and periodical articles. Read more about primary and secondary sources.
References: Books
References: Books
A. Book by a Single Author
Endnote / Footnote Format:
Author, first name first, Title (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
1 Douglas R. Egerton, Death or Liberty: African Americans and Revolutionary America (New York: Oxford University Press, 2009), 123.
2 Barbara J. Blaszak, The Matriarchs of England's Cooperative Movement: A Study in Gender Politics and Female Leadership, 1883-1921 (Westport: Greenwood Press, 2000), 63.
After you provide a full citation for a given source, such as seen in notes 1 & 2, you only need to provide the author’s last name, a portion of the book’s title, and page number for all subsequent citations from that same work.
3 Blaszak, Matriarchs, 64.
4 Egerton, Death or Liberty, 14.
NOTE: For all types of books, if more than one city of publication is listed, you need only cite the first city that is listed.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first. Title. City of Publisher: Publisher, year.
Bibliography Example:
Egerton, Douglas R. Death or Liberty: African Americans and Revolutionary America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
B. Books by Two, Three, or Four Authors
Note Format:
Authors, first name first, Title (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
5 Edward H. Judge and John W. Langdon, A Hard and Bitter Peace: A Global History of the Cold War (New York: Prentice Hall, 1996), 168.
6 Judge and Langdon, Hard and Bitter Peace, 314.
7 Joseph P. Sánchez, Bruce A. Erickson, and Jerry L. Gurulé, Between Two Countries: A History of Coronado National Memorial, 1939-1990 (Los Ranchos de Albuquerque: Rio Grande Books, 2007), 54.
8 Sánchez, Erickson, and Gurulé, Between Two Countries, 119.
NOTE: If a Book has more than Four authors, list the first author, followed by et al.
9 Smith, John et al., Red Dawn (New York: Prentice Hall, 1996), 155.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first for first author only. Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Judge, Edward H., and John W. Langdon. A Hard and Bitter Peace: A Global History of the Cold War. New York: Prentice Hall, 1996.
Sánchez, Joseph P., Bruce A. Erickson, and Jerry L. Gurulé. Between Two Countries: A History of Coronado National Memorial, 1939-1990. Los Ranchos de Albuquerque: Rio Grande Books, 2007.
C. Books by Corporate Authors
Note Format:
Author, Title, edition (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
10 American Historical Association Institutional Services Program, The Introductory History Course: Six Models, 2nd ed. (Washington: American Historical Association, 1984), 67.
11 American Historical Association, Introductory History Course, 33.
Bibliography Format:
Author. Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
American Historical Association. The Introductory History Course: Six Models. 2nd ed. Washington: American Historical Association, 1984.
D. Edited Books/Parts of Collections of Writings by Different Authors
Note Format:
Author(s), first name first, “Title of article,” in Title, ed(s). Name of editor(s) (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
12 Robert Scully, "Saint Winefride's Well: The Significance and Survival of a Welsh Catholic Shrine from the Early Middle Ages to the Present Day," in Saints and Their Cults in the Atlantic World, ed. Margaret Cormack (Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 2007), 132.
13 Scully, “Saint Winefride’s Well,” 134.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first. “Title of article.” In Title, edited by editors names, first name first, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Langdon, John W. "Whither the Postards? Graduates of the Ecole Sainte-Geneviève, 1914-1954." In The Making of Frenchmen, eds. Donald N. Baker and Patrick J. Harrigan, 429-439. Waterloo, Ontario: Historical Reflections Press, 1980.
NOTE: Page numbers of the portion of the collection you are citing must be included: "429-439" above.
D2. Edited Books (no other author)
Note Format:
Author, first name first, ed., Title (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
14 Jack Beatty, ed., Colossus: How the Corporation Changed America (New York: Broadway Books, 2001), 127.
15 Beatty, Colossus, 129.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first, ed. Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Beatty, Jack, ed. Colossus: How the Corporation Changed America. New York: Broadway Books, 2001.
E. Multivolume Books with a Single Title by a Single Author
Note Format:
Author, first name first, Title, volumes (City of Publication: Publisher, year), volume number:page number.
Note Example:
16 William Henry Chamberlin, The Russian Revolution, 2 vols. (New York: Macmillan, 1935), 1:26.
17 Chamberlin, Russian Revolution, 2:318.
NOTE: The number preceding the colon is the number of the volume.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first. Title. Number of volumes. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Chamberlin, William Henry. The Russian Revolution. 2 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1935.
F. Multivolume Books by a Single Author with a Separate Title for Each Volume
Note Format:
Author, first name first, Title, Volume number of Series title, Number of volumes. (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), volume number:page number.
Note Example:
18 Pierre Viansson-Ponté, Le temps des orphelins, Vol. 2 of Histoire de la République Gaullienne, 2 vols. (Paris: Fayard, 1976), 2:199.
19 Viansson-Ponté, Le temps, 2:227.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first. Title. Volume number of Series title. Number of volumes. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Viansson-Ponté, Pierre. Le temps des orphelins. Vol. 2 of Histoire de la République Gaullienne. 2 vols. Paris: Fayard, 1976.
G. Multivolume Books with a Different Author and Title for Each Volume
Note Format:
Author, first name first, Title, Volume number of editor’s name, ed. Series Title, Number of volumes (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), volume number:page number.
Note Example:
20 Lewis B. Spitz, The Protestant Reformation, Vol. 3 of William L. Langer, ed. The Rise of Modern Europe, 20 vols. (New York: Harper & Row, 1985), 3:189.
21 Spitz, The Protestant Reformation, 3:176.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first. Title. Volume number of editor’s name, ed. Series Title. Number of volumes. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Spitz, Lewis B. The Protestant Reformation. Vol. 3, William L. Langer, ed. The Rise of Modern Europe. 20 vols. New York: Harper & Row, 1985.
H. Two or More Parts of a Collection of Writings by Different Authors
(Use this format if you are citing from several different sections of a multi-author book)
Note Format:
Author, first name first, “Article’s title,” in Title, ed. Editor’s name (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
22 Martin Hinterberger, “Emotions in Byzantium,” in A Companion to Byzantium, ed. Liz James (Chichester: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010), 127.
23 Hinterberger, “Emotions,” 129.
For subsequent citations from the same book, but from a different author, use a shortened version of the collected work.
Note Example:
24 Andrew Louth, “Christology and Heresy,” in James, Companion to Byzantium, 189.
25 Louth, “Christology,” 190.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first. “Article title.” In Editor’s Last name, Title, inclusive pages.
Bibliography Example:
Hinterberger, Martin. “Emotions in Byzantium.” In James, A Companion to Byzantium, 123-34.
Louth, Andrew. “Christology and Heresy.” In James, A Companion to Byzantium, 187-98.
James, Liz. Ed. A Companion to Byzantium. Chichester, West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
I. Books With More than One Edition
See Section C above. Second and subsequent references omit the number of the edition.
J. Translated Books
Note Format:
Author, first name first, Title, trans. Translator’s name (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
26 Fritz Fischer, War of Illusions, trans. Marian Jackson (New York: Norton, 1975), 271.
27 Fischer, War, 344.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first. Title. Translated by Translator’s name. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Fischer, Fritz. War of Illusions. Translated by Marian Jackson. New York: Norton, 1975.
K. A Letter (or diary entry, memo, etc.) in a published collection (If it is a letter, you do not need to specify that, but another type of document should be specified)
Note Format:
Name of sender and recipient, date, in Title, ed. Editor’s name (City of Publication: publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
28 Henry Adams to Charles Milnes Gaskell, 22 September 1867, in Letters of Henry Adams, 1858-1891, ed. Worthington Chauncey Ford (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1930), 133-34.
29 Ford, Letters, 136.
30 Berchtold to Tisza, telegram, 8 July 1914, in July 1914: The Outbreak of the First World War, ed. Imanuel Geiss (New York: Norton, 1974), 102.
31 Geiss, July 1914, 103.
32 Ronald Reagan, The “Evil Empire” Speech, 1983, in Speeches in World History, ed. Suzanne McIntire (New York: Facts on File, 2009), 496.
33 Reagan, Speeches, 497.
Bibliography Format:
Original Author. Title. Edited by Editor’s name. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Adams, Henry. Letters of Henry Adams, 1858-1891. Edited by Worthington Chauncey Ford. Boston: Hougton Mifflin, 1930.
L. A Primary Source Quoted by a Second Source
Note: It is preferable that the original source is consulted and cited on its own, but if the original source cannot be obtained, use this format.
Note Format:
Author of original source, first name first, Title (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number, quoted in Author of secondary source, first name first, Title (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page number.
Note Example:
34 Hastings Ismay, The Memoirs of General Lord Ismay (New York: Viking, 1960), 199, quoted in James Holland, The Battle of Britain (New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2010), 476.
35 Ismay, The Memoirs, 210, quoted in Holland, The Battle, 480.
Bibliography Format:
Author of original source, last name first, Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year. Quoted/Cited in Author of secondary work, last name first, Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
Bibliography Example:
Ismay, Hastings. The Memoirs of General Lord Ismay. New York: Viking Press, 1960. Quoted in Holland, James. The Battle of Britain. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2010.
Note: you should include a separate citation for the secondary source alone in the bibliography.
M. Books published electronically
Note: Cite the book as you would normally, but include the online format that you used, i.e., Kindle, Nook, pdf. If you accessed the book online (such as in Google Books or through an e-book in the library), include the date accessed and the URL. If your E-book does not provide page numbers, you should include the section title or chapter number instead.
Note Example:
36 Hasan Kayali, Arabs and Young Turks: Ottomanism, Arabism, and Islamism in the Ottoman Empire, 1908-1918 (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1997), 167, accessed May 21 2019, https://escholarship.org/editions/view?docId=ft7n39p1dn;query=;brand=ucpress.
37 Kayali, Arabs, 186.
38 Winston Churchill, The Gathering Storm (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1947), 35, Kindle.
Bibliography Example:
Kayali, Hasan. Arabs and Young Turks: Ottomanism, Arabism, and Islamism in the Ottoman Empire, 1908-1918. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1997. Accessed May 21 2019, https://escholarship.org/editions/view?docId=ft7n39p1dn;query=;brand=ucpress.
Churchill, Winston. The Gathering Storm. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1947. Kindle.
References: Journal Articles
References: Journal Articles
O. Articles from Online Journal
Note: Many online publications use a DOI (digital object identifier) to create a persistent link to the article’s information. If no DOI is available, use the URL and the date accessed.)
Note Format:
Author, first name first, “Title of article,” Title of Journal or Website Volume, Issue Number (Year): page number (if specified), Date accessed, URL.
Note Example:
42 Douglas R. Egerton, “The Material Culture of Slave Resistance,” History Now: American History Online 2 (December 2004), accessed June 20, 2011, www.historynow.org/12_2004/historian2.html.
43 Egerton, “The Material Culture.”
44 Timothy S. Heubner, “Roger B. Taney and the Slavery Issue: Looking Beyond –and before- Dred Scott,” The Journal of American History 97, no. 1 (2010): 33, doi: 10.2307/jahist/97.1.17.
45 Heubner, “Roger B. Taney,” 18.
Bibliography Format:
Author, last name first. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume number:Issue Number (date): inclusive pages (leave blank if there are no pages). doi: or Accessed date. URL.
Bibliography Example:
Egerton, Douglas R. “The Material Culture of Slave Resistance.” History Now: American History Online (December 2004). Accessed June 20, 2011. http://www.gilderlehrman.org/historynow/12_2004/historian2.php.
Huebner, Timothy S. “Roger B. Taney and the Slavery Issue: Looking Beyond –and before- Dred Scott.” The Journal of American History 97, no. 1 (2010): 17-38. doi: 10.2307/jahist/97.1.17.
P. Full-text newspaper articles
Note Format:
Author, first name first, “Title of Article,” Title of Newspaper, Date of newspaper article, page number (if available), Date accessed, URL.
Note Example:
46 Juan Forero, “Turbulent Bolivia Is Producing More Cocaine, the U.N. Reports,” New York Times on the Web, June 15, 2005, accessed June 16, 2005, https://www.nytimes.com/2005/06/15/international/americas/15coca.html.
For subsequent citations of this source cite the author’s last name and part of title.
Note: For regular print editions, omit date accessed and URL.
Bibliography Format:
Author, Last name first. “Article Title.” Title of Newspaper/Magazine, Date. Accessed date. URL.
Bibliography Example:
Forero, Juan. “Turbulent Bolivia Is Producing More Cocaine, the U.N. Reports.” New York Times on the Web, June 15, 2005. Accessed June 16, 2005. https://www.nytimes.com/2005/06/15/international/americas/15coca.html.
Q. Primary Sources Found Online
(Use this format when using approved websites containing primary source material. Include as many of the following elements as are available).
Note Format
Author of original document, first name first, “Title of document,” Date of document, Title of Web Site where document is found, Author, Editor, or Producer of site, accessed date, URL.
Note Examples:
46Sydney Smith, “Fallacies of Anti-Reformers,” 1824, Internet Modern History Sourcebook, Paul Halsall, ed., accessed June 22, 2021, http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/smithantireform.html.
47Smith, “Fallacies of Anti-Reformers.”
48Thorstein Veblen, “The Theory of the Leisure Class,” 1899, Internet Modern History Sourcebook, Paul Halsall, ed., accessed June 22, 2021, http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/1899veblen.html.
49Veblen, “Theory of the Leisure Class.”
Note Example (no author given):
50 “Codex Justinianus: Protection of Freewomen Married to Servile Husbands,” 530 A.D., Internet Medieval Source Book, Paul Halsall, ed., accessed February 25, 2002, http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/source/codexVIl-24-i.html.
51 “Codex Justinianus.”
Bibliography Format:
Author of original document, last name first. “Title of document.” Date of document. Title of Web Site where document is found. Author, Editor, or Producer of site. Date accessed. URL.
Bibliography Example:
Smith, Sydney. “Fallacies of Anti-Reformers.” 1824. Internet Modern History Sourcebook. Paul Halsall, ed. Accessed June 22, 2011. http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/smithantireform.html.
Veblen, Thorstein. “The Theory of the Leisure Class.” 1899. Internet Modern History Sourcebook. Paul Halsall, ed. Accessed June 22, 2011. http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/1899veblen.html.
Bibliography Example (no author given):
“Codex Justinianus: Protection of Freewomen Married to Servile Husbands.” 530 A.D. Internet Medieval Source Book. Paul Halsall, ed. Accessed February 25, 2002. http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/source/codexVIl-24-i.html.
References: Websites
References: Websites
Web-based sources should be used sparingly and very carefully. Students must have all sources, Internet or otherwise, approved by the instructor before they are used.
R. Other Approved Websites (Include as much information as available)
Note Format:
Author of webpage, “Title of Webpage,” Title of entire website, Publication Date, accessed Date, URL.
Note Example:
61 Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine, “May Day: On the Current Conditions of the Palestinian Working Class,” Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine, May 21, 2009, accessed April 13, 2010, http://www.pflp.ps/english/?q=may-day-current-conditions-struggle-palestinian-wo.
62 Popular Front, "May Day".
Bibliography Format:
Author of webpage. “Title of Webpage.” Title of Entire Website. Publication Date. Accessed Date. URL.
Bibliography Example:
Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine. “May Day: On the Current Conditions of the Palestinian Working Class.” Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine. Accessed May 21, 2009. www.pflp.ps/english/?q=may-day-current-conditions-struggle-palestinian-wo.
References: Other Sources
References: Other Sources
S. Book Reviews.
Book Review found in a journal:
Note Format:
Author of review, “Title of Review,” (if available) review of Title of Book, by Author of book, Title of Journal Volume, Issue (year), page, url.
Note Example:
63 Audrey Elisa Kerr, “Everybody’s Oprah,” review of Embracing Sisterhood: Class Identity and Contemporary Black Women, by Katrina Bell McDonald, The Women’s Review of Books 26, no. 2 (2009), 31, http://www.jstor.org/stable/20476833
64 Kerr, “Everybody’s Oprah.”
Book Review found on a website:
Note Format:
Author, “Title of Review” (if available) review of Title of Book, by Reviewer Name, Website where review appeared, date, URL.
Note Example:
65 David Ponton, III, review of Spatializing Blackness: Architectures of Confinement and Black Masculinity in Chicago, by Rashad Shabazz, H-Net Online, June 2016, https://www.h-net.org/reviews/showrev.php?id=46538.
66 Ponton, III, review of Spatializing Blackness.
Book Review found in a journal:
Bibliography Format:
Author of review. “Title of Review.” (if available) Review of Title of Book, by Author of book. Title of Journal Volume, Issue (year). url.
Bibliography Example:
Kerr, Audrey Elisa. “Everybody’s Oprah.” Review of Embracing Sisterhood: Class Identity and Contemporary Black Women, by Katrina Bell McDonald. The Women’s Review of Books 26, no. 2 (2009). http://www.jstor.org/stable/20476833
Book Review found on a website:
Bibliography Format:
Author, “Title of Review” (if available). Review of Title of Book, by Reviewer Name. Website where review appeared. Date. URL.
Bilbiography Example:
David Ponton, III. Review of Spatializing Blackness: Architectures of Confinement and Black Masculinity in Chicago, by Rashad Shabazz. H-Net Online. June 2016. https://www.h-net.org/reviews/showrev.php?id=46538.
T. Audio/Visual Materials (films, photographs, images, etc.)
Note: In most cases, visual sources are not acceptable; however some primary sources, such as the Watergate trials or Nazi propaganda, are appropriate and must be cited correctly. All sources must be approved by your instructor. The Library of Congress has an excellent set of example citations that you should consult.
Note Format:
Author (or Creator) of image or video, “Title,” format, date, source, accessed date, URL.
Note Example: (primary video accessed from library)
67 The WPA Film Library, “Nazi Anti-Semitic Propaganda,” video, 1939, Films on Demand, accessed September 14, 2014, http://library.lemoyne.edu/record=b1418786
Note Example: (speech/video found online)
68 Harry S. Truman, “Speech after Hiroshima Bombing,” video, August 6, 1945, Critical Past, accessed August 13, 2016, https://youtu.be/e3Ib4wTq0jY
Bibliography Format:
Author (or Creator) of image or video. “Title.” Format. Date. Source. Accessed date. URL.
Bibliography Example: (primary video accessed from library)
The WPA Film Library. “Nazi Anti-Semitic Propaganda,” Video. 1939. Films on Demand. Accessed September 14, 2014. http://library.lemoyne.edu/record=b1418786
Bibliography Example: (speech/video found online)
Harry S. Truman. “Speech after Hiroshima Bombing.” Video. August 6. 1945. Critical Past. Accessed August 13, 2016. https://youtu.be/e3Ib4wTq0jY
If the book or article you wish to cite differs from all of the models given here, please consult http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html. If none of those seem to fit, ask your professor or the History Librarian.