HST 110/111: World Civilizations I & II

DOCUMENTATION: FOOTNOTES/ENDNOTES

The History Department requires that papers contain endnotes or footnotes for proper documentation. Chicago style, as found in the Chicago Manual of Style is mandatory; the choice between footnotes and endnotes may vary from one professor to another. MLA, APA, and AMA documentation is unacceptable for use in History papers.

The examples on this page provide models for use in your own paper. Please note that the first reference to a book or periodical is very detailed; the second and all subsequent references to the same book or periodical are very brief. If none of those seem to fit, ask your own professor, the history librarian, or consult the Chicago Manual of Style: http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html.

PRO TIP: When formatting endnotes/footnotes in Chicago style think of the note as a sentence! The elements of the sentence are separated by commas, not periods, like in the bibliography. Also, in a sentence, you'd never refer to an author last name first, right?

Example: Citing a book

Footnote:

John Sullivan, Why I Wrote this Book (London: Oxford University Press, 2010), 185.

Bibliography:

Sullivan, John. Why I Wrote this Book. London: Oxford University Press. 2010.

References: Journal Articles

N. Articles in Print Journals

Note Format:

Author, first name first, “Article title,” Journal Title Volume number: Issue number (Year): page number.

Note Example:

³⁹ Yamin Xu, “Policing Civility on the Streets: Encounter with Litterbugs, ‘Nightsoil Lords,’ and Street Corner Urinators in Republican Beijing,”Twentieth-Century China 30:2 (2005): 45.

NOTE: 30:2 signifies volume 30 and issue number 2.

⁴⁰ Xu, “Policing Civility,” 48.

NOTE: If a work has four authors or more, cite the first author's name followed by et al in the notes.

In the bibliography, cite all the authors names. DO THIS FOR BOOKS AND ARTICLES

Note Example

⁴¹ John Smith, et al., "Red Empire Nation," Journal of American History 30:2 (2005): 55.

Bibliography Format:

Author, last name first. “Article title.” Journal Title Volume Number:Issue Number (Year): page numbers.

Bibliography Example:

Xu, Yamin. “Policing Civility on the Streets: Encounter with Litterbugs, ‘Nightsoil Lords,’ and Street Corner Urinators in Republican Beijing.” Twentieth-Century China 30:2 (2005): 28-71.

Note: Format multiple authors in the same way as for books.

A Word about CITING ELECTRONIC SOURCES

Citations of electronic resources are different from citations for published sources. The following elements must be included:

• Electronic full-text Journal articles and E-Books from the library’s databases, though they are accessed online, are regarded as published sources. Citations for these must contain full documentation of the publication as well as electronic access information.
• Subscription databases, such as JSTOR or Proquest, must be accessed through a subscribing library or other institution.
• Because material on the internet can change without notice, the last date on which the material was accessed is part of the citation.
• The web address, or URL, is a required part of the citation. Most databases will include a stable URL, a permalink, or a DOI (digital object identifier) that you should use.

Proper citation formats, with examples, are shown below:

O. Articles from Online Journal

Note: Many online publications use a DOI (digital object identifier) to create a persistent link to the article’s information. If no DOI is available, use the URL and the date accessed.)

Note Format:

Author, first name first, “Title of article,” Title of Journal or Website Volume:Issue Number (Year): page number (if specified), Date accessed, URL.

Note Example:

⁴² Douglas R. Egerton, “The Material Culture of Slave Resistance,” History Now: American History Online 2 (December 2004), accessed 20 June 2011, www.historynow.org/12_2004/historian2.html.

⁴³ Egerton, “The Material Culture.”

⁴⁴ Timothy S. Heubner, “Roger B. Taney and the Slavery Issue: Looking Beyond –and before- Dred Scott,” The Journal of American History 97:1 (2010): 17, doi: 10.2307/jahist/97.1.17.

⁴⁵ Heubner, “Roger B. Taney,” 18.

Bibliography Format:

Author, last name first. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume number:Issue Number (date): inclusive pages (leave blank if there are no pages). doi: or Accessed date. URL.

Bibliography Example:

Egerton, Douglas R. “The Material Culture of Slave Resistance.” History Now: American History Online (December 2004). Accessed 20 June 2011. http://www.gilderlehrman.org/historynow/12_2004/historian2.php.

Huebner, Timothy S. “Roger B. Taney and the Slavery Issue: Looking Beyond –and before- Dred Scott.” The Journal of American History 97:1 (2010): 17-38. doi: 10.2307/jahist/97.1.17.

P. Full-text newspaper articles

Note Format:

Author, first name first, “Title of Article,” Title of Newspaper, Date of newspaper article, page number (if available), Date accessed, URL.

Note Example:

⁴⁶ Juan Forero, “Turbulent Bolivia Is Producing More Cocaine, the U.N. Reports,” New York Times on the Web, 15 June 2005, accessed 16 June 2005, www.nytimes.com/2005/06/15/international/americas/15coca.html.

For subsequent citations of this source cite the author’s last name and part of title.

Note: For regular print editions, omit date accessed and URL.

Bibliography Format:

Author, Last name first. “Article Title.” Title of Newspaper/Magazine, Date. Accessed date. URL.

Bibliography Example:

Forero, Juan. “Turbulent Bolivia Is Producing More Cocaine, the U.N. Reports.” New York Times on the Web, 15 June 2005. Accessed 16 June 2005. www.nytimes.com/2005/06/15/international/americas/15coca.html.

Q. Articles/Newspapers retrieved from a Database

Note: Include all journal information and provide database name and a permanent link to the article from the database.

Note Format with url (seen in articles retrieved from ProQuest databases):

Author, first name first, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume:Issue Number (year): page number, Database name, url.

Note Example:

⁴⁷ Robert Zens, “In the Name of the Sultan: Haci Mustapha, Pasha of Belgrade and Ottoman Provincial Rule in the Late 18th Century,” International Journal of Middle East Studies 44:1 (2012): 132, ProQuest Central, http://0-search.proquest.com.library.lemoyne.edu/docview/1531929597/4F00F029CDF14BBBPQ/16?accountid=27881

⁴⁸ Zens, “In the Name of the Sultan,” 134.

Note Format with permalink (seen in articles retrieved from Ebsco databases):

Author, first name first, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume:Issue number (year): page number, Database name, Permanent link.

Note Example:

⁴⁹ Barbara Blaszak, “Martha Jane Bury (1851-1913): A Case of Class Identity,” Labour History Review 67:2 (2002): 131, Historical Abstracts, http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.lemoyne.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=hia&AN=9502395&site=ehost-live

⁵⁰ Blaszak, “Martha Jane Bury,” 132.

Note Format with stable url link: (seen in articles retrieved from the JSTOR database)

Author, first name first, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume:Issue number (year): page number, Database name, Permanent link.

Note Example:

⁵¹ Stephen Tisza and Hamilton Fish Armstrong, “A Letter of Count Tisza’s,” Foreign Affairs 6:3 (1928): 503, JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20028631.

⁵² Tisza and Armstrong, “Letter,” 504.

Note Format for Newspaper with Permanent URL link:

Author, first name first (leave blank if no author), “Article Title,” Publication Title, Date, Database name, Permanent link.

Note Example:

⁵³ “General Discussion of the Contest,” New York Times (1857-1922), 22 May 1861, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, http://0-proquest.umi.com.library.lemoyne.edu/pqdweb?did=78657656&sid=1&Fmt=2&clientId=1518&RQT=309&VName=HNP.

For subsequent citations of this source cite the author’s last name and part of title.

Note: Include all journal information and provide database name and a permanent link to the article from the database.

Bibliography Format with url (seen in articles retrieved from ProQuest databases):

Author, last name first. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume number: Issue Number (date): inclusive pages. Database name. url.

Bibliography Example:

Zens, Robert. “In the Name of the Sultan: Haci Mustapha, Pasha of Belgrade and Ottoman Provincial Rule in the Late 18th Century.” International Journal of Middle East Studies 44:1 (2012): 130-139. ProQuest Central. http://0-search.proquest.com.library.lemoyne.edu/docview/1531929597/4F00F029CDF14BBBPQ/16?accountid=27881

Bibliography Format with permalink (seen in articles retrieved from Ebsco databases):

Author, last name first. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume number:Issue Number (date): inclusive pages. Database Name. Permanent Link.

Bibliography Example:

Blaszak, Barbara. “Martha Jane Bury (1851-1913): A Case Study of Class Identity.” Labour History Review 67:2 (August 2002): 130-148. Historical Abstracts with Full Text. http://0-search.ebscohost.com.library.lemoyne.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=hia&AN=9502395&site=ehost-live.

Bibliography Format with stable url link: (seen in articles retrieved from the JSTOR database)

Author, last name first. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume number:Issue Number (date): inclusive pages. Database Name. Permanent Link.

Bibliography Example:

Tisza, Stephen, and Hamilton Fish Armstrong. “A Letter of Count Tisza’s.” Foreign Affairs 6:3 (April 1928): 501-504. JSTOR. http://www.jstor.org/stable/20028631.

Bilbigraphy Format Newspaper with Permanent URL link

Bibliography Example:

Author, first name first (leave blank if no author). “Article Title.” Publication Title. Date. Database name. Permanent link.

“General Discussion of the Contest.” New York Times (1857-1922). 22 May 1861. ProQuest Historical Newspapers. http://0-proquest.umi.com.library.lemoyne.edu/pqdweb?did=78657656&sid=1&Fmt=2&clientId=1518&RQT=309&VName=HNP.

References: Websites

Web-based sources should be used sparingly and very carefully. Students must have all sources, Internet or otherwise, approved by the instructor before they are used.

R. Primary source documents found online (Use this format when using approved websites containing primary source material) Include as many of the following elements as are available. Include page numbers when appropriate before the URL

Note Format:

Author of original document, first name first, “Title of document,” Date of document, Title of Web Site where document is found, Author, Editor, or Producer of site, accessed date, URL.

Note Example:

⁵⁴ Sydney Smith, “Fallacies of Anti-Reformers,” 1824, Internet Modern History Sourcebook, Paul Halsall, ed., accessed 22 June 2011, http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/smithantireform.html.

⁵⁵ Smith, “Fallacies of Anti-Reformers.”

⁵⁶ Thorstein Veblen, “The Theory of the Leisure Class,” 1899, Internet Modern History Sourcebook, Paul Halsall, ed., accessed 22 June 2011, http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/1899veblen.html.

⁵⁷ Veblen, “Theory of the Leisure Class.”

Note Example (no author given):

⁵⁸ “Codex Justinianus: Protection of Freewomen Married to Servile Husbands,” 530 A.D., Internet Medieval Source Book, Paul Halsall, ed., accessed 25 February 2002, http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/source/codexVIl-24-i.html.

⁵⁹ “Codex Justinianus.”

Note: Many print primary sources are reproduced in digital format on various websites, such at the ones above. Most sites should give original publication information, but if not, you can try to locate original source information by searching online (try google books or worldcat.org). When possible, cite your sources according to the appropriate print format, and include the date accessed and the URL. For example, Veblen’s book The Theory of the Leisure Class can now be found in Google Books and would be cited similar to section M as follows:

⁶⁰ Thorstein Veblen, The Theory of the Leisure Class: An Economic Study of Instituions, London: Macmillan & Co., 1912, accessed 22 June 2011, http://books.google.com/books?id=2kAoAAAAYAAJ&dq=inauthor%3A%22Thorstein%20Veblen%22&pg=PR3#v=onepage&q&f=false.

Bibliography Format:

Author of original document, last name first. “Title of document.” Date of document. Title of Web Site where document is found. Author, Editor, or Producer of site. Date accessed. URL.

Bibliography Example:

Smith, Sydney. “Fallacies of Anti-Reformers.” 1824. Internet Modern History Sourcebook. Paul Halsall, ed. Accessed 22 June 2011. http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/smithantireform.html.

Veblen, Thorstein. “The Theory of the Leisure Class.” 1899. Internet Modern History Sourcebook. Paul Halsall, ed. Accessed 22 June 2011. http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/1899veblen.html.

Bibliography Example (no author given):

“Codex Justinianus: Protection of Freewomen Married to Servile Husbands.” 530 A.D. Internet Medieval Source Book. Paul Halsall, ed. Accessed 25 February 2002. http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/source/codexVIl-24-i.html.

Note: Many print primary sources are reproduced in digital format on various websites, such at the ones above. Most sites should give original publication information, but if not, you can try to locate original source information by searching online (try google books or worldcat.org). When possible, cite your sources according to the appropriate print format, and include the date accessed and the URL. For example, Veblen’s book The Theory of the Leisure Class can now be found in Google Books and would be cited similar to section N as follows:

Veblen, Thorstein. The Theory of the Leisure Class: An Economic Study of Instituions. London: Macmillan & Co., 1912. Accessed 22 June 21 2011. http://books.google.com/books?id=2kAoAAAAYAAJ&dq=inauthor%3A%22Thorstein%20Veblen%22&pg=PR3#v=onepage&q&f=false.

S. Other Approved Websites (Include as much information as available)

Note Format:

Author of webpage, “Title of Webpage,” Title of entire website, Publication Date, accessed Date, URL.

Note Example:

⁶¹ Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine, “May Day: On the Current Conditions of the Palestinian Working Class,” Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine, 21 May 2009, accessed 13 April 2010, http://www.pflp.ps/english/?q=may-day-current-conditions-struggle-palestinian-wo.

⁶² Popular Front, "May Day".

Bibliography Format:

Author of webpage. “Title of Webpage.” Title of Entire Website. Publication Date. Accessed Date. URL.

Bibliography Example:

Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine. “May Day: On the Current Conditions of the Palestinian Working Class.” Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine. Accessed 21 May 2009. www.pflp.ps/english/?q=may-day-current-conditions-struggle-palestinian-wo.

References: Other Sources

T. Book Reviews.

Book Review found in a journal:

Note Format:

Author of review, “Title of Review,” (if available) review of Title of Book, by Author of book, Title of Journal Volume: Issue (year), page, url.

Note Example:

⁶³ Audrey Elisa Kerr, “Everybody’s Oprah,” review of Embracing Sisterhood: Class Identity and Contemporary Black Women, by Katrina Bell McDonald, The Women’s Review of Books 26:2 (2009), 31, http://www.jstor.org/stable/20476833

⁶⁴ Kerr, “Everybody’s Oprah.”

Book Review found on a website:

Note Format:

Author, “Title of Review” (if available) review of Title of Book, by Reviewer Name, Website where review appeared, date, URL.

Note Example:

⁶⁵ David Ponton, III, review of Spatializing Blackness: Architectures of Confinement and Black Masculinity in Chicago, by Rashad Shabazz, H-Net Online, June 2016, https://www.h-net.org/reviews/showrev.php?id=46538.

⁶⁶ Ponton, III, review of Spatializing Blackness.

Book Review found in a journal:

Bibliography Format:

Author of review. “Title of Review.” (if available) Review of Title of Book, by Author of book. Title of Journal Volume: Issue (year). url.

Bibliography Example:

Kerr, Audrey Elisa. “Everybody’s Oprah.” Review of Embracing Sisterhood: Class Identity and Contemporary Black Women, by Katrina Bell McDonald. The Women’s Review of Books 26:2 (2009). http://www.jstor.org/stable/20476833

Book Review found on a website:

Bibliography Format:

Author, “Title of Review” (if available). Review of Title of Book, by Reviewer Name. Website where review appeared. Date. URL.

Bilbiography Example:

David Ponton, III. Review of Spatializing Blackness: Architectures of Confinement and Black Masculinity in Chicago, by Rashad Shabazz. H-Net Online. June 2016. https://www.h-net.org/reviews/showrev.php?id=46538.

U. Audio/Visual Materials (films, photographs, images, etc.)

Note: In most cases, visual sources are not acceptable; however some primary sources, such as the Watergate trials or Nazi propaganda, are appropriate and must be cited correctly. All sources must be approved by your instructor. The Library of Congress has an excellent set of example citations that you should consult.

General Note Format:

Author (or Creator) of image or video, “Title,” format, date, source, accessed date, URL.

Note Example: (primary video accessed from library)

⁶⁷ The WPA Film Library, “Nazi Anti-Semitic Propaganda,” video, 1939, Films on Demand, accessed 14 September 2014, http://library.lemoyne.edu/record=b1418786

Note Example: (speech/video found online)

⁶⁸ Harry S. Truman, “Speech after Hiroshima Bombing,” video, August 6, 1945, Critical Past, accessed 13 August 2016, https://youtu.be/e3Ib4wTq0jY

General Bibliography Format:

Author (or Creator) of image or video. “Title.” Format. Date. Source. Accessed date. URL.

Bibliography Example: (primary video accessed from library)

The WPA Film Library. “Nazi Anti-Semitic Propaganda,” Video. 1939. Films on Demand. Accessed 14 September 2014. http://library.lemoyne.edu/record=b1418786

Bibliography Example: (speech/video found online)

Harry S. Truman. “Speech after Hiroshima Bombing.” Video. August 6. 1945. Critical Past. Accessed 13 August 2016. https://youtu.be/e3Ib4wTq0jY

If the book or article you wish to cite differs from all of the models given here, please consult http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html. If none of those seem to fit, ask your professor or the History Librarian.