Recommended Journals
The following journals are useful in researching the history of medicine. Click on the links to be taken a database that will enable searching within the specific journal.
Bulletin of the history of medicine
(0007-5140)
| from 1987 to 2001 in Le Moyne College Print Titles |
| from Spring 1996 to present in Project MUSE - Premium Collection |
| from 04/01/2003 to 1 year ago in ProQuest Central, ProQuest Research Library and ProQuest Science Journals |
| from 05/01/2000 to 12/31/2002 in Freely Accessible Journals |
(1471-5279)
| from 1999 to present in Freely Accessible Journals and Freely Accessible Science Journals |
(0022-5045)
| from 01/01/2000 to present in Project MUSE - Premium Collection |
| from 01/01/2002 to 1 year ago in ProQuest Central, ProQuest Health Management, ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source, ProQuest Research Library and ProQuest Science Journals |
| from 10/01/2004 to 1 year ago in Wilson Select Plus |
| from 2008 to 1 year ago in PubMed Central |
(0951-631X)
| from 04/01/2006 to 1 year ago in ProQuest Central and ProQuest Health Management |
| from 2008 to 1 year ago in PubMed Central |
Wellcome bibliography for the history of medicine
| from 01/01/2003 to 06/01/2004 in Freely Accessible Journals |
East Asian Science, Technology & Medicine
Available through Interlibrary loan, you can browse back issues and titles at their web site.
Asian Medicine: Tradition and Modernity
Available through Interlibrary loan, you can browse back issues and titles at their web site. You can also search within the publication by clicking on the search link in the top right of the web site and including "asian medicine" in the publication field.
Find Journals
Recommended Databases
Below is a list of recommended databases for your research.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources about the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Contains full-text and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, conference papers, books, and videos.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowUse to find scholarly articles, and e-books for the humanities and social sciences. Contains full-text scholarly articles and e-books.
- ProQuest Central. Research Library This link opens in a new windowUse to find multidisciplinary resources covering over 150 topics, and is ideal for interdisciplinary research. Contains abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, reports, websites, podcasts and newspapers.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowUse to find a free and accessible version of MedLine from the National Library of Medicine, a database that contains references to peer-reviewed articles about life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains citations and abstracts from over 4000 medical and biomedical journals in the U.S. and other countries. Sourced from the National Library of Medicine.