Best Bets for Legal Research
- WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new windowUse to find federal and state legal resources. Contains full-text legislation and case law for federal and state law, and legal literature.
- To search law reviews and journals, choose Secondary Sources, then under By Type choose Law Reviews and Journals.
- For more help on using the Westlaw key number system, see this great summary from the University of Indiana Law Library.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly and popular articles in nearly every area of academic study. It is a great place to start your research on a topic and it’s also great for interdisciplinary research. Contains full-text articles and abstracts from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, videos and images.
Additional Databases
- Legal Information Institute [LII] (Cornell University) This link opens in a new windowIncludes: full-text legislation and case law for federal and state law and Supreme Court Cases.
- GPO (U.S. Government Printing Office) Catalog This link opens in a new windowA finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Coverage: 1976 to present.
- Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowUse to find articles on law, law enforcement, security, terrorism, and more. Contains indexing, abstracts and full-text academic journal articles, as well as books, news, video and audio. Includes a topic finder.
- ProQuest Central. Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources on correctional and law enforcement. Contains articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.