Reference books
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
Call Number: Reference: Desk WM 15 D536 2022ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022-03-18
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new windowUse to find scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA), as well as historical and classic works from the behavioral and social sciences. Contains full-text eBooks. Sourced from the American Psychological Association (APA).
Find all PsycBooks in library's catalog
Online Encyclopedias from Gale
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Use to find general reference material, including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A great place to start researching your topic; you can search across all the reference books or select a subject area. Contains eBooks.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the eBooks linked below as well as many others!
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society by
This three-volume set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. "Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare. Comparative articles include information about childhood in cultures throughout the world. Features 250 photographs representing the visual images of childhood.
ISBN: 9780028657141Publication Date: 2003-10-03
Encyclopedia of Disability by
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the five-volume Encyclopedia of Disability. This encyclopedia represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1,000 entries --in a clear, accessible style--with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. Volumes 1 - 4 cover disability A to Z, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography, and index. Volume 5 contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability. The Encyclopedia of Disability is a must-have reference for all academic libraries, large public libraries, and any social science, medical, legal, or governmental reference collections. Non-governmental organizations, charitable foundations, and law firms will also want to add this set to their collections.
ISBN: 9780761925651Publication Date: 2005-10-07
Encyclopedia of Social Deviance by
Social deviance does not involve just criminal behavior--it's any behavior that violates a cultural norm, and that can involve something as minor as consistently and deliberately wearing lively mismatched socks. Moreover, whether a crime, a sin, or simply unique taste, what's considered deviant at one time and place can change, as when extensive tattooing and "body art" evolved from a sideshow carnival spectacle to a nearly universal rite of passage within U.S. culture.Drawing contributions from across the social and behavioral sciences, including sociology, anthropology, criminology, politics, psychology, and religion, the Encyclopedia of Social Deviance introduces students to this lively field of rule-making and rebellion that strikes at the core of what it means to be an individual living in a social world. Key Features: More than 300 articles are organized A-to-Z in two volumes available in both electronic and print formats. Articles, authored by key figures in the field, conclude with cross-reference links and further readings. Although organized A-to-Z, a thematic "Reader's Guide" groups related articles by broad areas (e.g., Concepts; Theories; Research Methodologies; Individual Deviance; Organizational Deviance; etc.) as one handy search feature on the e-Reference platform, which also includes a comprehensive index of search terms.
ISBN: 9781452240336Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
This title covers all aspects - biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, cultural, religious, philosophical - of death and dying. The book also provides a historical perspective of death and dying through the ages. In almost all entries, the set gives ample coverage to non-US customs and attitudes, for example, in such articles as AIDS, funeral industry, infanticide, and suicide.
ISBN: 9780028656892Publication Date: 2002-08-23
