Academic Search Premier / PsycInfo
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use to find scholarly and popular articles in nearly every area of academic study. It is a great place to start your research on a topic and it’s also great for interdisciplinary research. Contains full-text articles and abstracts from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, videos and images. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowUse to find peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences,mental health and related disciplines. Contains citations, abstracts and full-text scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Sourced from the American Psychological Association (APA).
Best Bets for Sociology
- SocINDEX with full text This link opens in a new windowEBSCO's SOCIndex covers all the social sciences and is the place to begin a search for articles for a SOC or CJS course.
- ProQuest Central. Sociology Database This link opens in a new windowUse to find information covering the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. Contains abstracts and full-text articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, reports, newspapers, blogs, podcasts, conference papers and proceedings and website links.
- ProQuest Central. Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources covering a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Contains abstracts and full-text articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, reports, newspapers, blogs, podcasts, conference papers and proceedings and website links.
- JSTOR. Archival Journals This link opens in a new windowYour JSTOR search can be narrowed by subject in Advanced Search using the "Journal Filter" and selecting "Sociology."
Online tutorials for searching
How to Get the Full Text of Articles
1. Click on any link for "Full Text" to see if it will bring you to the full article. Also try links like "Find at Le Moyne Library"
2. Check the Journal Finder to see if the library subscribes to that e-journal. If we do, simply click through to the correct issue and then the correct article. (Look at your citation to find this information).
3. If neither of those two options gets you full text, use interlibrary loan to request the article. It's free, easy and quick!
4. You can always email Virginia at youngvp@lemoyne.edu and ask for help with getting full text!