Finding Aids
Danny Biasone Collection, 1954-2009
Danny Biasone, Daniel Biasone was born in Cheitti, Italy, in 1909. His family emigrated to Syracuse, NY in 1920. The Syracuse Nationals basketball team was franchised with the National Basketball League in 1946 by Danny Biasone. The Syracuse Nats were 1954-55 season N.B.A. Champions. In 1954, in response to fan dissatisfaction, Biasone came up with a 24 second time limit for team possession. The 24 second clock became mandatory during the 1954-55 season, and was crucial in modernizing the basketball as it's still played today.
Charles Beirne, S.J. Collection, 1999-2007
Rev. Charles J. Beirne was Le Moyne College’s eleventh president, serving from June 2000 to May 2007. Beirne was well invested in Central American politics, and served as academic vice president at Universidad Centroamericana in San Salvodor following the murder of six Jesuit priests. During Beirne’s tenure at Le Moyne, he initiated a comprehensive five-year strategic plan, developed a new mission statement, and worked toward the development of an architectural master plan for the campus.The collection includes reflections of his time in Central America, insight in his appointment as president of Le Moyne College, and his accomplishments at Le Moyne.
Reverend Daniel Berrigan, S.J. Collection, 1963-2019
Daniel Berrigan was an activist and intellectual who was known for his radical ways of fighting injustice. Part of the Catonsville Nine, Berrigan was not afraid to go to jail in order to fight for what he believed in. Many of his life experiences found their way into his poems and Berrigan wrote his autobiography To Dwell in Peace in 1988. This collection contains material that deal with Berrigan’s experiences as a peace activist and includes a large volume of newspaper articles, as well as his poems, tapes, and photographs.
Robert Grewen, S.J. Papers, 1924-1977
Robert Grewen was a Jesuit who played an important role in the founding of Le Moyne College. He was the college’s 3rd President as well as founder of Christ the King Retreat House and Director of the Kirby Foundation. This collection has copies of Grewen’s writings, speeches, and tv series. It also contains letters, personal notebooks, and photographs.
International House Collection, 1963-2019
Founded in 1963, International House was built on the principal of international service for Le Moyne students. At its inception, members lived as a Christian community centered around service trips to assist the underprivileged in the mountains of Mexico. Soon, the organization morphed and became a hub for students who felt passionate about social justice issues both at home and abroad, with Alternate Spring Break trips to help serve these communities. International House was a center of community involvement until it closed in 2004. Contained within this collection are histories, correspondence, House minutes and reports, and articles. The collection also contains separate boxes of various memorabilia and ephemera.
Renown church music composer, organist, and choir master, Joseph McGrath was born in Oswego, NY. First a student of August Wiegand in Oswego, and then Charles Courboin, organist at St. Patrick's Cathedral in New York City, followed by Gaston Dethier, organist at St. Francis Xavier in New York. McGrath extend his studies of chant and liturgical music with Rev. Leo P. Manzetti at St. Mary's Seminary in Baltimore. From Syracuse University he earned a degree in composition in 1919 having studied with William H. Berwald.
Prof. McGrath taught in the school of fine arts at Syracuse University and at Catholic University in the summers, and served for decades as the organist and choir master of the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, Syracuse, NY. He was a Fellow of the American Guild of Organists.
Le Moyne College awarded him an honorary degree in 1956. Truly a giant in his field, McGrath has over 500 compositions including 58 masses, 63 piano and 75 organ compositions, and over 200 choral works.
References:
"Laborer in the Vineyard," Caecilia, 78(5): 188.
Usher, Mary Anne. Biography of Joseph J. McGrath (1889-1968). Syracuse, NY: [Typescript]. n.d.
Reverend William Noon Papers and Photographs, 1940-1975
Born May 17, 1912, Reverend William Noon was a literary scholar who specialized in twentieth century literature. Noon studied philosophy, theology, and literature; with a particular interest in the relationship of prayer and poetry. He was also recognized as an authority for the author James Joyce; so much so that the New York Times once claimed that he was one of the "best professional exerts on Joyce."
This collection contains personal and family papers, photographs, personal and professional correspondence, business records, and draft manuscripts of articles, books, and reviews.
Edmund Ryan, S.J. Collection, 1975-2002
Edmund Ryan held various degrees in Theology and Education, and was a member of the Society of Jesus. He used his skills and training in education and theology to gain multiple administration positions in Jesuit schools across the United States. In 1993 he joined Le Moyne College, where he held the positions of Interim Academic Vice President and Special Assistant to the President until his death in 2001. This collection contains both personal and professional letters and correspondence, committee records, and documents from previous colligate affiliations.
The Sharon Kinsman Salmon Papers, 2010-2015
Sharon Kinsman Salmon ’78 became a member of the Le Moyne College Board of Trustees in 2004 and Chair in 2012. Using the business skills she learned while an executive at Pfizer, Salmon helped orchestrate a new age at Le Moyne. The bulk of her collection centers on 2014 and the Presidential resignation and replacement search that ensued. It includes handwritten and typed notes, correspondence, meeting minutes, articles, memos, and Summary Points of Board meetings. It also includes three Day Books where Salmon wrote her notes for the meetings.
The John B. and Mary Vita Collection is held at the Le Moyne Archives and Special Collections. This collection contains personal items, private and public correspondence, newspaper clippings, Hoarse and Buggie information, class of 1954 reunion photographs and information, other miscellaneous photographs, and a Civil War scrapbook and letter, regarding William T. Sherman’s March to Sea.