AI Research Tools
| NAME | WHAT IT DOES | UNDERLYING DATA | IS IT FREE? | MORE INFORMATION |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elicit | An AI research assistant optimized to support literature reviews and evidence synthesis work | OpenAI’s GPT-3 is the foundational model, with a data training set mainly comprised of internet content. This can result in limited coverage for some research topics. | The free version is limited to 50 results, which could limit its utility for its intended purpose. | Elicit FAQs (older version FAQs) |
| Perplexity | An AI research assistant that mixes academic sources and live web searches | Internal search index | Free with paid upgrades available. | Perplexity FAQs |
| Consensus | Similar to Elicit, Consensus uses LLMs to help researchers find and synthesize answers to research questions, focusing on the scholarly authors' findings and claims in each paper. | Semantic Scholar Database | Free (20 searches/month); Paid version allows unlimited searching. | Consensus FAQs |
| Semantic Scholar | A free, AI-driven academic search engine that enhances discovery with features like citation context and influential paper identification. Also provides brief summaries ('TLDR's) of the main objectives and results of papers. | Semantic Scholar Database - which is heavily based in sciences | Semantic Scholar is currently free. | Semantic Scholar FAQs |
| Research Rabbit | A visual discovery tool that maps connections between papers, authors, and topics, ideal for exploring new research areas | Research Rabbit uses multiple databases, but does not name them (more information can be found on the FAQ page). | Research Rabbit is currently free. | Research Rabbit FAQs |
| Connected Papers | Like Research Rabbit, Connected Papers focuses on the relationships between research papers to find similar research. You can also use Connected Papers to get a visual overview of an academic field. | Semantic Scholar Database | Free (5 graphs/month); paid version allows unlimited graphing. | Connected Papers - About |
| scite | scite has a suite of products that help researchers develop their topics, find papers, and search citations in context (describing whether the article provides supporting or contrasting evidence) | Many different sources (an incomplete list can be found on this page) | No. (Pricing information) | scite FAQs; how scite works |
| Scholarcy | Scholarcy summarizes key points and claims of articles into 'summary cards' that researchers can read, share, and annotate when compiling research on a given topic. | Scholarcy only uses research papers uploaded or linked by the researcher themselves. It works as a way to help you read and summarize your research, but is not a search engine. | Free (short articles only); Paid version allows articles of any length. | Scholarcy FAQs |
| ChatGPT | While the AI chatbot ChatGPT is typically thought of as a writing tool, it can be used in the initial idea development phase of research, and can also be of use in finding further sources. (Remember to always look up sources to verify their credibility.) | The paid versions of ChatGPT are currently connected to the internet through Bing. The free version was trained on data last updated in September 2021, but that is likely to change. | There is a free version available. | OpenAI Help Center - ChatGPT |
| Gemini | Designed by Google, Gemini (formerly Bard) is an AI-powered chatbot that responds to natural language queries with relevant information. As with ChatGPT, researchers can use Gemini to aid in topic development and initial source discovery. | The Gemini family of models is trained on a large and varied dataset. This includes public web data, proprietary Google data, and information provided by users of its products. The exact details are not fully disclosed. | Gemini is currently free to use with your Le Moyne Google account. | Gemini FAQ |
| Inciteful |
Inciteful consists of two tools. The Paper Discovery tool builds a graph of papers based on inputted citations and analyzes the network with an algorithm to find the most similar papers, the most important papers, and prolific authors and institutions. The Literature Connector allows input of two citations and visualizes how the two are connected by the literature. |
Microsoft Academic Graph is the basis for all Inciteful's underlying data. Inciteful also uses Semantic Scholar for all abstracts and Unpaywall for all Open Access links. | Free | Inciteful - Getting Started |
This table is reproduced from Georgetown University Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Other Lists of AI Tools
Generative AI Product Tracker - Ithaka S+R: A comprehensive and regularly updated list of generative AI tools. The list is organized by function and includes information on pricing, features, and limitations. The tracker can also be accessed as a Google Doc.
There’s an AI for That: A searchable AI aggregator website designed for finding an AI tool for specific tasks. Includes an overview of each AI's functions and features as well as links to each.