Plays and playwright
- Shakespeare's Works
- Doollee.com This link opens in a new window Catalog of modern playwrights and theatre plays. Coverage: 1956 to present.
- Inter-Play (online index to plays) This link opens in a new window Includes: over 17,500 citations of plays, ranging from ancient to modern. Foreign language, as well as English, plays are indexed.
- Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design This link opens in a new window Motley Group consisted of Margaret Harris, her sister Sophia Harris, and Elizabeth Montgomery, who designed sets and costumes from 1932 to 1976 for plays by Shakespeare and modern classics, opera, ballet, and motion pictures. The collection includes costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.
- Production Art Database (Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences) This link opens in a new window Includes: original artwork in the Academy library's collection, including costume design and production design drawings, animation art, storyboards and paintings.
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOn-campus link to the database
Academic Video Online covers a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Find all Academic Video Online in library's catalog
- Global Performing Arts Database (GloPAD) This link opens in a new window Includes: detailed and multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.
- Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library This link opens in a new window A collaboration between New York University Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics, provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance in the many cultures and political landscapes of the Americas.
- Internet Broadway Database (IBDB) This link opens in a new window A database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway
- Internet Movie Database (IMDB) This link opens in a new window Includes: information related to movies, television shows, actors, production crew personnel, video games and fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media.
- Shakespeare videosavailable in streaming, DVD or VHS formats
- JSTOR. Archival Journals This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles and books in 75 subject areas.
Coverage: The availability of most journals on JSTOR is controlled by a "moving wall," which is an agreed-upon delay, usually three to five years.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window