Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health by Barbara J. Hemphill; Barbara Hemphill-Pearson; Hemphill-Pearson, BarbaraBarbara Hemphill-Pearson's Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health has been updated and expanded into a much anticipated Second Edition. This text is a unique compilation of mental health assessments that are used in practice and taught in occupational therapy clinics and academic programs. With 30 contributors from a wide range of specialty areas in occupational therapy, this text is significantly revised with 23 chapters divided into 9 sections. The revisions elucidate the authors' perspectives so that they can be incorporated into mental health practices. Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health, Second Edition proposes an exciting integrated approach to assessing multiple systems. The chapters in this text also present a thorough process for approaching client evaluation. In addition, the reasoning process is explored in a way that is helpful to occupational therapy students and practitioners at all levels. Topic Included in the Second Edition: * Integrative approach in assessment * Interviewing process * Psychological assessment * Learning assessment * Behavioral assessment * Biological and spiritual assessment * Computerized assessment New to the Second Edition: * Projective media assessments * Spirituality concerns * Assessments in wellness and pediatrics * Evidence based research While introducing new assessments and offering updated information, this Second Edition supports an occupational therapist's development of evaluation responsibilities. Also, incorporated throughout the text is the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework. Each Chapter Includes: * A theoretical base on the assessment including historical development, rationale for development, behaviors assessed, appropriate patient use, review of literature, and assessment adminstration * How the instrument is administered, which will include the procedures, problems with administering, and materials needed * The presentation of a case study and interpretation of results * Statistical analysis and recent studies * Suggestions for further research to continue the development and refinement of assessments in mental health occupational therapy Overall, Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health provides information that can be used to scrutinize evaluation procedures and practices while providing a sound foundation for a holistic, integrated approach to client assessment.
Publication Date: 2007-11-15
Clinical Ethics by Albert R. Jonsen; Mark Siegler; William J. WinsladeTrust the proven "Four Box" method to formulate ethically appropriate recommendations for patient care Clinical Ethics teaches healthcare providers how to effectively identify, evaluate, and resolve ethical issues in clinical medicine. Using the author acclaimed "Four Box Method" and numerous illustrative case examples, this book enables practitioners to gain a better understanding of the complexities involved in ethical cases and demonstrates how to reach resolution to ethical problems. Clinical Ethics goes beyond theory to offer a decision-making strategy applicable to real-world practice. Readers will learn an easy-to-apply system based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that clearly explain clinical ethics and help them formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. The case examples have been selected to demonstrate how principles apply to real-world everyday practice. The co-authors, a bioethicist, a physician and a lawyer/ psychoanalyst /philosopher, draw on more than forty years respectively of clinical experience to select exemplary cases of ethical problems and to reflect on how moral principles and concepts can guide clinicians in formulating ethically appropriate recommendations for patient care. A unique chapter organization: Each chapter of the book begins with some general considerations about the topic, and the ethical principle relevant to that topic. The clinical situations that generate ethical problems are then described and illustrated by clinically realistic medical cases. A short distillation of current opinion from the bioethical literature is provided, followed by an analysis of the cases.. The authors conclude with recommendations that the three authors have formulated from their extensive experience as bioethics consultants.
Call Number: Part of the Access Medicine Collection
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Occupational Health Psychology by James C. Quick (Editor); Lois E. Tetrick (Editor)Handbook of Occupational Health Psychology brings together an international group of scholars to address a wide variety of topics relevant to this rapidly growing field. From issues of workload and workplace safety, to work schedules and social environments to job future and content, this handbook offers tools intended to combat risks at their source. This is an important resource for scholars, researchers, and practitioners in occupational health psychology, public health, and medicine.
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
Information Retrieval by William R. HershThis series is directed to healthcare professionals who are leading the transfor- tion of health care by using information and knowledge to advance the quality of patient care. Launched in 1988 as Computers in Health Care, the series offers a broad range of titles: some are addressed to speci?c professions such as nursing, medicine, and health administration; others to special areas of practice such as trauma and radiology. Still other books in this series focus on interdisciplinary issues, such as the computer-based patient record, electronic health records, and networked healthcare systems. Renamed Health Informatics in 1998 to re?ect the rapid evolution in the discipline now known as health informatics, the series continues to add titles that contribute to the evolution of the ?eld. In this series, eminent experts, serving as editors or authors, offer their accounts of innovation in health informatics. Incre- ingly, these accounts go beyond hardware and software to address the role of information in in?uencing the transformation of healthcare delivery systems around the world. The series also increasingly focuses on "peopleware" and the organi- tional, behavioral, and societal changes that accompany the diffusion of infor- tion technology in health services environments.
Publication Date: 2008-11-06
Occupational Therapy and Older People by Anne McIntyre; Anita AtwalThis book locates older people as major clients of occupational therapy services. It provides a comprehensive resource for students and a basic working reference for clinicians. The book encompasses current theories, debates and challenges which occupational therapists need to engage in if they are to provide pro-active and promotional approaches to ageing. Detailed coverage of bodily structures, functions and pathologies leads onto chapters dedicated to activity, occupation and participation. The ethos of the book is to inspire innovation in the practice of occupational therapy with older people, promoting successful ageing that entails control and empowerment. This new edition has been fully revised and updated. In addition brand new material has been included on occupational transitions (retirement, frailty and end of life); user perspectives; public health including advocacy, enablement and empowerment; people entering old age with disability and mental health conditions; visual impairment; assistive technology driving and ageism.