Skip to main content

Education research guide

The library has various locations where education related materials are housed.  Please see below to find out what types of materials each of these sections house and where they are located.

L's

Type of materials: Under the Library of Congress classification system, materials whose call numbers start with L's have to do with the topic of education.  While books about education may be located in other sections as well, depending on the focus area, the majority of education related books will be housed in this area.

Location: The L's are located within the Library's bookstacks collection.  They are located on the second floor of the library within the HT - PL section.  Please see the library floor plan for more assistance.

Examples: Below are some examples of books from this collection.

Youth Literature

Type of Materials: This section contains fiction books designed for children and young adults.

Location: This section is located on the second floor of the library across from the periodical stacks section.  Please see the library floor plan for more assistance.

Examples: Below are some examples of books from this collection.

Teaching Materials

Type of Materials: This section contains educational materials that teachers can use in the classroom to support student learning.

Location: This section is located on the second floor of the library across from the oversize section.  Please see the library floor plan for more assistance.

Examples: Below are some examples of books from this collection.

Kits

Type of Materials: This section contains materials such as books and other educational related objects such as games, tools and workbooks packaged together in kits.  These kits are designed for teachers and other educators to use in the classroom to support student learning.

Location: This section is located on the second floor of the library next to the oversize section.  Please see the library floor plan for more assistance.

Examples: Below are some examples of kits from this collection.

Education Tests

Type of Materials: This section contains standardized tests used to assess student's abilities.

Location: These tests are located on the first floor of the library at the Library Services Desk.  Please see the library floor plan for more assistance.

Special Rules:

  • The tests are available only to students in education or psychology assessment courses
  • The Library Service Desk staff at the Falcone Library must have your name on a list before access is granted
  • Tests are available for in-library use only and may be checked out for 2-hour use (renewable)

Examples: Below are some examples of kits from this collection.