Recommended Research Article databases
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUse to find scholarly articles in nursing and allied health fields, including topics of medicine, alternative therapies, consumer health, nursing standards, and research instruments. Contains full-text articles and books, abstracts and citations, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, quick lessons, video and audio and full-text of Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Includes a Subject Heading feature, which allows students to identify proper subject headings and keywords to locate relevant articles.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowWatch training videos here:
https://learn.nlm.nih.gov/documentation/training-packets/T0042010P/ - ProQuest Central. Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources on medical information for researchers, students, faculty, and healthcare professionals. Contains abstracts and full-text scholarly articles, medical reference eBooks, instructional videos, dissertations, and working papers.
Search Strategy Builder
Search Strategy Builder
The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases’ search boxes.
Now copy and paste the above Search Strategy into a database search box.
The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries(CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US).
Recommended Condition / Disease Background Resources
These databases are great for background information and evidence-based treatment recommendations for specific diseases or conditions.
- DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new windowUse to find evidence-based information for health care professionals to support clinical decision-making. Contains full-text peer-reviewed clinically-organized disease summaries, drug information and links to full-text journal articles.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new windowUse to find evidence-based information and guidance for health professionals to inform decisions made at the point of care. Contains best practice information sheets, evidence summaries, recommended practices, systematic review protocols, and systemic reviews. Sourced from JBI (formerly the Joanna Briggs Institute).
Finding Additional Citations
These databases will produce powerful results yet they probably don't have full text articles. Both databases give a full citation listing so you can find works that cite the work in question and may build on the research.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowUse to find what is happening in research throughout the world in the fields of science, technology, social sciences, medicine and arts and humanities. Contains abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings. Must use links to access full-text.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse to find interdisciplinary articles from academic publishers, professional societies, institutional and preprint repositories posted on the web. Use the "Find @ Le Moyne Library" links in the search results as well as other links provided by the search engine to locate the full-text of articles. Contains full-text and abstracts of scholarly articles.
How to Use