Useful Chemistry Reference Books
- CRC Handbook OnlineUse the CRC Handbook online.
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics provides property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Call Number: Ref Stacks: QD65 .H3 2009/2010(90th ed.)ISBN: 113836729XThe CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an excellent source for names, formulas, solubilities, boiling points, melting points, and other chemical/physical properties.
The Merck IndexCall Number: Ref Stacks: QV 772 M554 2013ISBN: 9780911910001The Merck Index compiles properties of compounds of pharmaceutical and biological interest.
Reliable Web Tools
- NIST Chemistry WebBookThermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
- ChemSpiderA chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 55 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- PubChemPubChem is an open chemistry database from National Institutes of Health (NIH). It provides information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
You can also find links to peer-reviewed literature in PubChem.
SciFinder Substance Search
- SciFindern This link opens in a new windowUse to find information related to chemistry, biochemistry, and engineering. Contains journal articles, information on substances, reactions and references.
How to Use
First time users must register for a SciFindern account. You only need to register one time.