Skip to Main Content

Work at the Library

Access Services Department

Title: Access Services Student Assistant

General Work Schedule:

Anytime as needed and scheduled to work
Monday-Thursday, 8:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Friday, 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday, 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday, 9:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Note: Hours extend the week before and of final exams, during which the libray will remain open 24 hours
* Local student assistant must be willing to work additional hours during school breaks.

Qualifications:

- Ability to maintain focus on the task(s) assigned with minimal supervision.
- Desire to assist library patrons.
- Ability to do repetitive work on a daily basis.
- Advanced computer literacy and problem solving skills.
- Ability to assist patrons with library-specific materials, products and services including library catalog and database-related basic research, answering simple reference and directional questions, both in person and by phone.

Responsibilities:

General

- Adhere to all library policies and procedures as established in the Student Assistant Policies and Procedures Manual.
- Maintain an approachable demeanor.
- Supervise the Library in the absence of staff members (evenings and holidays).
- Seek out additional work after all assigned tasks have been completed.
- Provide assistance as assigned by supervisor and/or library staff members.

Service Desk

- Check in/out materials to library patrons, including renewals.
- Knowledge of policies and procedures for borrowing and renewing all types of library materials.
- Collect fines for overdue/lost materials.
- Monitor the security system and respond to the alarm.
- Answer incoming circulation desk calls.
- Assist patrons in the use of audiovisual and microform equipment, photocopiers and other resources.
- Assist patrons in the location of library materials.
- Book media resources and deliver resources to AV as needed.

Shelving

- Shelve library materials using the Library of Congress Classification System (LC).
- Search for missing materials.
- Maintain orderly print collection by various shelf reading, inventory and cleaning projects.
- Shelving ability will be monitored until proficient.

Back to top

Administration Department

Title: Administration Student Assistant

General Work Schedule:

Anytime as needed and scheduled to work
Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
* Local student assistant must be willing to work additional hours during school breaks.

Qualifications:

- Knowledge of Microsoft Excel and Microsoft Word
- Preferably an Accounting or Math Major
- Computer literate
- Interested in learning library functions
- Some heavy lifting involved

Responsibilities:

- Assist with system server procedures.
- Assist with processing of library materials, including system server data entry and changes.
- Assist in Microsoft Excel spreadsheet data entry and Microsoft Word document processing of financial business transactions.
- Assist in the processing of gift books, ordering of supplies, general word processing and printing documents from computer files.
- Assist in the maintenance, appearance, and cleanliness of the Library.
- Make deliveries to departments on campus.
- Perform other miscellaneous office duties as needed, e.g., photocopying, faxing, typing, etc.
Back to top

Archives

Title: Archives Student Assistant

General Work Schedule:

Anytime as needed and scheduled to work
Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
* Local student assistant must be willing to work additional hours during school breaks.

Qualifications:

- Knowledge of Microsoft Excel and Microsoft Word
- Students interested in Archives, Library Science, or Museum Studies preferred
- Computer literate
- Ability to do deskwork using a computer screen and keyboard
- Excellent organizational skills
- Ability to move collections/items (boxes), shelve books, stand on a step stool, and push a full book truck

Responsibilities:
Provide assistance and support for a range of duties including data entry, scanning, arranging and describing unprocessed archival and collections, creating inventories and finding aids, shelving materials, and  exhibit planning and installation.

- Assist with processing of archival collections, including system date entry and changes, organizing material and labeling folders and boxes.
- Creating general inventories of collections and finding aids, using spreadsheets, word documents, and/or xml.
- Assist in the maintenance, appearance, and cleanliness of the Archives.
- Make deliveries to and pick-ups from departments on campus as needed.
- Scanning slides, photographs and documents.
- Pull, re-shelve, move and arrange collections/items.
Back to top

Technical Services Department

Title: Technical Services Student Assistant

General Work Schedule:

Anytime as needed and scheduled to work
Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
* Local student assistant must be willing to work additional hours during school breaks.

Qualifications:

- Willingness to work an established schedule throughout the entire academic year.
- Willingness to learn Library operations
- Attention to detail and accuracy of work.
- Knowledge of Microsoft Excel and Microsoft Word.

Responsibilities:

- Student workers will assist the Technical Services Department in the daily operations.

Acquisitions/Serials Responsbilities

- Attention to detail and accuracy during pre-searching, updating, retrieval and processing of purchased materials through the library's Acquisitions automated systems and various other automated systems.
- Check print and non-print materials into library's Acquisitions automated system.
- Daily accuracy of serials check ins.
- Miscellaneous office duties:  Sorting of mail, filing, scanning, faxing, photocopying, typing, answering the telephones, deliveries to departments on campus, and other duties, as needed.

Cataloging & Processing Responsibilities

- Student will assist the Cataloging Technician in operations dealing with computerized cataloging.
- Shelving new and gift books.
- Searching authority file of library's automated system for correct headings.
- Entering data into microenhancer software and library's automated system.
- Assisting with cataloging statistics, manually and using Microsoft Excel.
- Participate in special cataloging projects.
- Check accuracy of new records in library's automated catalog.
- Physical processing of material added to the library; generating computer labels; inputing of records into database; simple mending of books.
Back to top

Access Services Department

Title: Library Services Graduate Assistant

Reports to: Access Services Supervisor

General Work Schedule:
Approximately 15-20 hours per week.  Schedule is flexible but evenings and weekends preferred.

Qualifications:

Required
Current Le Moyne graduate student
Strong customer service orientation
Communication and interpersonal skills
Sound judgment in order to carry out library policies
Ability to work well independently
Experience with a variety of computer applications and an aptitude for learning new ones
Strong organizational, conceptual, analytical and problem-solving skills

Preferred
Prior library related work experience

Physical Requirements
Regular standing, walking, reaching, pushing, pulling, lifting up to 20 lbs and pushing/pulling of wheeled carts
Occasional kneeling, crouching and repetitive motions

Responsibilities:

Circulation/Collection Maintenance
Oversees the charging out, return, and re-shelving of circulating materials.
Performs public service desk responsibilities as needed.
Resolves general patron concerns/fine disputes and refers to Access Services Supervisor when appropriate.
Authorizes exceptions to circulation policies when appropriate.
Prepares, sends and monitors patron overdue notices/bills.
Approves extension of library privileges to non-Le Moyne patrons based on information received from applicants.
Processes search and hold requests.
In partnership with the Access Services Department staff, oversees and/or trains undergraduate assistants in the shelving, shelf-reading, inventorying, shifting, and cleaning of all library materials.
Oversees operation of exit control system.

ReservesAssists in the processing of reserve requests.and conducts periodic accuracy checks of reserve itemsAs needed, assists in the processing and removal of print, media and electronic reserves.

Patron AssistanceAssists undergraduate student assistant workers in answering reference, directional, technical and circulation related questions.Refers patrons to proper desk or personnel.

Statistics
Tracks and records library usage statistics.

Planning/Budgeting

Evaluates need for equipment/supplies and makes recommendations for purchase.

Note: This position description in no way states or implies that these are the only duties to be performed by this employee.  Employee will be required to follow any other instructions and to perform any duties requested by the supervisor.
Back to top

chat loading...