How Do You Find Primary Sources on the Web?
A good start when searching for primary sources on the web is to consider the time period.
Click the section titles below to find recommended primary sources for each time period.
Modern History (14th - 18th century)
Modern History (19th century - current)
Please view the Primary Sources guide for more information on primary sources.
Recommended Primary Sources: Ancient Civilization
Below is a list of reputable web sites that contain primary sources from Ancient Civilizations. These websites can be difficult to search, but with patience and the use of good keywords you may find something useful. If you need help, use our AskUs reference services, or contact the subject specialist.
- Ancient Greek and Roman textsThe Theoi Classical E-Texts Library is a collection of works from ancient Greek and Roman literature in translation. Good for Sparta, Athens, Olympics. There is a search box at the top.
- Avalon Project - Primary documents in law, history and diplomacyEnter keywords in the search box at the top right. Documents are arranged by time period.
- Euro Docs - History of Prehistoric and Ancient EuropeA search in the box on the left for your keywords will give a list of pages where that term appears. Click on one of the links, and then do a ctrl-F and enter your keyword again to get to the right entry on the page.
- EyeWitness To The Ancient WorldThis website has primary sources along with some explanatory notes. Primary sources appear in RED. Be sure to scroll to the bottom to look at the citation for the primary source. There is a search box at the top right where you can search keywords for your topic.
- Internet Ancient History SourceBookSources are arranged according to region or theme, eg. Egypt, or Human Origins. Scroll down the column on the left to see if your topic is covered. Try a Ctrl-F and enter a key term to see if it is mentioned on the site.
- Internet Classics Archive441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
- Perseus Digital LibraryThis site contains primary and secondary sources organized by theme/time period). Search at the top right by keywords. When you see a blue triangle, click on it to open list of sources.
Recommended Primary Sources: Middle Ages
Below is a list of reputable web sites that contain primary sources from Middle Ages. These websites can be difficult to search, but with patience and the use of good keywords you may find something useful. If you need help, use our AskUs reference services, or contact the subject specialist.
- EuroDocs : Online Sources for European History This link opens in a new windowA search in the box on the left for your keywords will give a list of pages where that term appears. Click on one of the links, and then do a ctrl-F and enter your keyword again to get to the right entry on the page.
- Avalon Project - Primary documents in law, history and diplomacyEnter keywords in the search box at the top right. Documents are arranged by time period.
- Epistolæ: Medieval Women's LettersEpistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter.
- European History Primary SourcesIndex of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. Read the brief guide to searching the portal first.
- EyeWitness To The Middle Ages and RenaissanceThis website has primary sources along with some explanatory notes. Primary sources appear in RED. Be sure to scroll to the bottom to look at the citation for the primary source. There is a search box at the top right where you can search keywords for your topic.
- Home - Icelandic Saga DatabaseThe Icelandic sagas are prose histories describing events that took place amongst the Norse and Celtic inhabitants of Iceland during the period of the Icelandic Commonwealth in the 10th and 11th centuries AD.
- Internet Medieval SourceBookSources are arranged according to region or theme, eg. Rome, France, or Renaissance, Reformation. Scroll down the column on the left to see if your topic is covered. Try a Ctrl-F and enter a key term to see if it is mentioned on the site.
- Sources > Primary sources | British History OnlineBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Try searching in the top right search box.
Recommended Primary Sources: Modern History (14th - 18th century)
Below is a list of reputable web sites that contain primary sources from Modern History (14th -18th century). These websites can be difficult to search, but with patience and the use of good keywords you may find something useful. If you need help, use our AskUs reference services, or contact the subject specialist.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 This link opens in a new windowUse to find primary source articles from journals documenting the life of American people, presented through the eyes of those who experienced it. Contains full-text articles from historical journals and magazines published between 1684 and 1912.
- Avalon Project - Primary documents in law, history and diplomacyEnter keywords in the search box at the top right. Documents are arranged by time period.
- British EmpireCollection of primary sources included in an online exhibit on British Empire from the UK National Archives
- Digital Public Library of America- Primary Source SetsDrawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the Digital Public Library of America's Primary Source Sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, and links to related resources. Select a subject and then time period to browse what sets are available.
- Euro Docs - History of Prehistoric and Ancient EuropeA search in the box on the left for your keywords will give a list of pages where that term appears. Click on one of the links, and then do a ctrl-F and enter your keyword again to get to the right entry on the page.
- European History Primary SourcesIndex of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. Read the brief guide to searching the portal first.
- EyeWitness To The 17th CenturyThis website has primary sources along with some explanatory notes. Primary sources appear in RED. Be sure to scroll to the bottom to look at the citation for the primary source. There is a search box at the top right where you can search keywords for your topic.
- Founders Online: HomeGeorge Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 119,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative, federally funded Founding Fathers Papers projects
- India Office RecordsThe India Office Records are the repository of the archives of the East India Company (1600-1858), the Board of Control or Board of Commissioners for the Affairs of India (1784-1858), the India Office (1858-1947), the Burma Office (1937-1948), and a number of related British agencies overseas.
- Internet Modern History SourceBookSources are arranged according to region or theme, eg. France or Ind. Revolution. Scroll down the column on the left to see if your topic is covered. Try a Ctrl-F and enter a key term to see if it is mentioned on the site.
- Perseus Digital LibraryThis site contains primary and secondary sources organized by theme/time period). Search at the top right by keywords. When you see a blue triangle, click on it to open list of sources.
- Sources > Primary sources | British History OnlineBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Try searching in the top right search box.
Recommended Primary Sources: Modern History (19th century - present)
Below is a list of reputable web sites that contain primary sources from Modern History (19th century - present). These websites can be difficult to search, but with patience and the use of good keywords you may find something useful. If you need help, use our AskUs reference services, or contact the subject specialist.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 This link opens in a new windowUse to find primary source articles from journals documenting the life of American people, presented through the eyes of those who experienced it. Contains full-text articles from historical journals and magazines published between 1684 and 1912.
- Early American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch here to find newspaper coverage of historical events. Any reports, photographs, or advertisements that took place at the time of the event are primary sources.
- Avalon Project - Primary documents in law, history and diplomacyEnter keywords in the search box at the top right. Documents are arranged by time period.
- Euro Docs - History of Europe as a Supranational RegionA search in the box on the left for your keywords will give a list of pages where that term appears. Click on one of the links, and then do a ctrl-F and enter your keyword again to get to the right entry on the page.
- European History Primary SourcesIndex of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. Read the brief guide to searching the portal first.
- EyeWitness To The 19th CenturyThis website has primary sources along with some explanatory notes. Primary sources appear in RED. Be sure to scroll to the bottom to look at the citation for the primary source. There is a search box at the top right where you can search keywords for your topic.
- Internet Modern History SourceBookSources are arranged according to region or theme, eg. France or Ind. Revolution. Scroll down the column on the left to see if your topic is covered. Try a Ctrl-F and enter a key term to see if it is mentioned on the site.
- Perseus Digital Library - 19th Century American CollectionThis site contains primary and secondary sources organized by theme/time period). Search at the top right by keywords. When you see a blue triangle, click on it to open list of sources.
- Sources > Primary sources | British History OnlineBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Try searching in the top right search box.
- Digital Public Library of America- Primary Source SetsDrawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the Digital Public Library of America's Primary Source Sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, and links to related resources. Select a subject and then time period to browse what sets are available.
- UNZ.orgThe UNZ.org website is intended to provide convenient access to a large quantity of high-quality content material, mostly published over the last 150 years in America and England, including both articles and books, encompassing over one million readable items and titles of another million items not readable due to copyright. Much of this material has never previously been available anywhere on the Internet and should be useful for researchers and intellectual historians.