Recommended Databases
- JSTOR. Archival Journals This link opens in a new window Use to find scholarly journal collections from leading academic journals from disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics and sciences. Contains full-text articles and abstracts from leading academic journals, eBooks and primary sources. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Use to find resources about the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Contains full-text and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, conference papers, books, and videos.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- European Views of the Americas, 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window Use to find information about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, covering the history of European exploration, natural disasters, disease, slavery, pirates, commerce, religion, portrayals of Native Americans and more. Contains index of primary source records. Sourced from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
- Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new windowUse to find citations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Contains citations for articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies. Open URL- and Zotero-enabled.
Ways to Find Articles
Do you know the database you need to search?
- Find Databases – Browse databases by name, subject or type.
Not sure what database will fit your topic best?
- Subject Guides – Browse a library guide written for your subject which identifies key databases and other research starting points.
- ProQuest Central – Search across multiple full-text databases on the ProQuest platform.
- Academic Search Premier – Search this research database that covers many topics.
Have an article citation (partial or full) or just a journal title?
- Find Articles By Citation – If you have a fairly complete citation, try entering the information into this form. The form will try to find a match in the Library's collection.
- Find Journals – Search by journal title or browse by subject. Then look for a link to the contents of the online journal. If the journal is a title we have in print, head to the shelf.
Still not finding what you need?
- Request From Interlibrary Loan – Order your article from another library.
- Ask Us! – A librarian is here to help you.
JSTOR
