Skip to main content

Faculty Support

Le Moyne is a member of the Center for Research Libraries--an international consortium of academic & independent research libraries. CRL supports advanced research in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving critical primary sources.

Using Library Resources in Canvas

Canvas is the LMS (Learning Management System) used by Le Moyne College. It is available to all instructors who teach at the College. Academic Technology can help you get started: Call the IT Service desk at 315-445-4579 and ask to be transferred. 

LibGuides is the web platform that hosts the Library website. It is part of a suite of library-centric information products known as LibApps. We're mentioning them here simply so you will recognize the names when you see them referenced in Canvas.

This guide is to show you how easy it is to incorporate resources from the Falcone Library website directly into your course. The kinds of library resources that you might consider using are:

  • Subject Guides – Librarians create overview guides to help you find books, databases, journals, videos, etc. from the Library's physical and online collection.
  • Course Guides – You can ask your subject librarian to create a library guide just for your class. Tailor it to a specific research assignment or project or design it to guide student work throughout the semester. 
  • Database Lists – Your can include the full database listing or just the databases most relevant to your course. 
  • Search Boxes – This guide includes examples of custom search boxes for searching library content. 

Embedding a Full Library Guide from LibGuides into Canvas

This video describes how to embed a Full Library Guide (LibGuide) into a module in Canvas. To insert a full guide, select "LibApps Library Content" from the "External Tool" list and then select "Full Guide" from the "LibGuides" list. You'll then be directed to select the "Guide" that you want to use. After you publish the module, it will be available to your students.

Embedding a Single Page from LibGuides into Canvas

This video describes how to embed a single page from a Library Guide into a module in Canvas. To insert a page, select "LibApps Library Content" from the "External Tool" list and then select "Single Page" from the "LibGuides" list. You'll then be directed to select the "Guide" and the "Guide Page" that you want to use. After you publish the module, it will be available to your students.

Embedding a Single Content Box from LibGuides into Canvas

This video describes how to embed a content box from a Library Guide into a module in Canvas. To insert a content box, select "LibApps Library Content" from the "External Tool" list and then select "Content Box" from the "LibGuides" list. You'll then be directed to select the "Guide" and the "Guide Page" that has the box you want to use. After you publish the module, it will be available to your students.

Embedding a Database List for a Subject into Canvas

This video describes how to embed a database list from the A-Z Databases list into a module in Canvas. To insert a database, select "LibApps Library Content" from the "External Tool" list and then select one of the database options from the "LibGuides" list. The options include:

  • "All A-Z Databases" – this will include all the search options available on the Library database list.
  • "Databases for Specific Subject + Subject Specialist" – this will limit display results to just the databases in the selected subject together with the librarian profile for that subject.
  • "Databases for Specific Subject (list only)" – this will limit display results to just the databases in the selected subject. The librarian profile will be omitted.
  • "Specific A-Z Database" – select a specific database from the database list.

After you publish the module, the selected content will be available to your students.

Using Journal Article Links In Canvas

Video: "Using journal article links within a learning management system" [3:02]

Note: The video was created for Blackboard, but the general techniques are still correct.