Best Bets for Sociology
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse to find interdisciplinary articles from academic publishers, professional societies, institutional and preprint repositories posted on the web. Use the "Find @ Le Moyne Library" links in the search results as well as other links provided by the search engine to locate the full-text of articles. Contains full-text and abstracts of scholarly articles.
How to Use - SocINDEX with full text This link opens in a new windowEBSCO's SOCIndex covers all the social sciences and is the place to begin a search for articles for a SOC or CJS course.
- JSTOR. Archival Journals This link opens in a new windowYour JSTOR search can be narrowed by subject in Advanced Search using the "Journal Filter" and selecting "Sociology."
- ProQuest Central. Sociology Database This link opens in a new windowUse to find information covering the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. Contains abstracts and full-text articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, reports, newspapers, blogs, podcasts, conference papers and proceedings and website links.
- ProQuest Central. Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources covering a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Contains abstracts and full-text articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines, dissertations, reports, newspapers, blogs, podcasts, conference papers and proceedings and website links.
What are Scholarly Articles?
Here are some common characteristics of scholarly journal articles:
- Article appears in a peer reviewed journal (filter your search results for "peer reviewed")
- Author is an expert in the field. The author's credentials in the field are established, and they are likely affiliated with a scholarly institution and hold an appropriate degree in their field.
- There is a lengthy bibliography at the end of the article.
- Based on original research, or new applications of others' research
- Written for a scholarly audience in that field of study (difficult for others to read)
Scholarly article example:
Additional Databases
- General Social Survey (GSS) BibliographyFor five decades, the General Social Survey (GSS) has studied the growing complexity of American society. The Bibliography is a curated list of articles related to the GSS.
- ProQuest Central. Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowUse to find resources on correctional and law enforcement. Contains articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowUse to find articles in the field of anthropology. Contains an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research. Includes some links to full-text articles. Sourced from Harvard University Tozzer Library collection and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute (UK).
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse to find interdisciplinary articles from academic publishers, professional societies, institutional and preprint repositories posted on the web. Use the "Find @ Le Moyne Library" links in the search results as well as other links provided by the search engine to locate the full-text of articles. Contains full-text and abstracts of scholarly articles.
How to Use - WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new windowUse to find federal and state legal resources. Contains full-text legislation and case law for federal and state law, and legal literature.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Use to find resources on women, gender and sexuality studies, and feminist research. Contains citations, abstracts and some links to full-text scholarly articles.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Use to find national & international periodical literature in political science and international relations, law, and public policy. Contains citations, abstracts, and indexing of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Some full-text articles are available through EBSCO.